We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beat of the ocean in a warm house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
42497 Gull Road, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The beat of the ocean in a warm house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The owner is the builder, the cook and the housekeeper. His breakfest is great. His service excellent, the building new and modern.
The house has pretty well furnished rooms and beds, on the first floot breakfest, housing with a wood fire, kind of library.
On the second floor the rooms and a great collection DVD movies.
The forest belongs to the house and you can make a trailhike with on your path deer, birds , wildlife.
We had a nice two days stay with stormy weather and rain. We couldwalk to the ocean and be back for a warming up

Room Tip: Choose your own style, ask the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerzdevlk, Owner at The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you so much - glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I visited the Compass Rose back in June 2011. When we decided to go back to Oregon in September 2012 we knew exactly where to stay. Doug and Karen take such good care of their guests. The breakfasts were delicious. Doug had some great suggestions on where to eat, visit, etc. I loved the biscotti that Karen had made for the guests each evening. It was a nice treat after a long day of sight seeing. I would recommend the Compass Rose to anyone traveling to that part of Oregon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerzdevlk, Owner at The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stays here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We turned out to be the only ones for the night and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The weather was too windy for a venture through the woods and after a quick trip to the beach (which was also windy, due to an incoming storm) we decided to hunker down for the night and enjoy some quiet time together. Doug and Karen have created a beautiful home here and the accommodations and service they provided were as others have already said, "superlative". We only wish we'd planned to stay longer to get a better chance to explore the trails and what Port Orford has to offer. We will be back FOR SURE!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerzdevlk, Owner at The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Superlative in every thoughtful detail. The hosts were exactly as attentive as you would have wanted them to be, in a B&B setting. The silence and peace factor are nearly unsurpassed in our experience, for this type of lodging. Hugely enhanced by the carefully groomed 'secret' wildlife trails, with walking sticks lovingly leaning at the entrance to each one. When we visited in early October during our anniversary trip to the beach, the organic vegetable garden still had lots of vitality. Things like this, along with whole walls of books everywhere (reminding us of home) gave this "new" and spotlessly clean refuge from the cares of the world, an inviting old-world charm. Little details such as bowls of polished agates, warmed coffee mugs, an occasional blazing fire, special bunnies to visit with, made this the perfect balance of elements, which will draw us back again. Way beyond special. Thanks Doug and Karen !!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in the Captiva, and the surf sounds and ocean breeze from just over the knoll wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here In July 2012, it was a delightful stopover. The beautiful house was welcoming and we learnt how to play backgammon whilst here. The beach is a short walk away and the house is within its own private grounds and trails. Breakfast was brilliant and then we were visited by a deer and her fawn. Then we received a brilliant forward recommendation which was fantastic.
A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

On our annual anniversary trip up the Oregon Coast we stayed at the Compass Rose (Captiva Room). Our room was immaculate and light with a beautiful view of the forest and lake. Ocean beach was a 10 min. walk down up th street.
Doug and Karen were terrific. Doug not only made some amazing breakfasts but was well versed on the history and places to see in the surrounding area.
Our first stay was so pleasant that we stayed two more nights on our return trip down the coast.

Room Tip: Cptiva Room has a spectacular view of the forest and lake. Very quiet surroundings. You feel like yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked for two nights based on the positive reviews on TA. The house was nothing special. The décor was very uninspiring. The room was basic and lacked such common items as a decent reading lamp and even a wastebasket. There were none of the little “nice touches” of other comparable B & Bs…not even a bottle of water in the room. We had the best room in the place and could hear the snoring and flushing of our neighbors.

What was particularly annoying was that we were asked if we needed more towels after the first night, but the room was not serviced. I can support environmentally conscious practices such as only washing towels and linens upon request, but for this price the room should have been at least freshened up. This was clearly a cost cutting measure. I would honestly suggest you consider giving this place a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerzdevlk, Owner at The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Bed and Breakfasts are not for everyone, but we do try to make everyone happy that stays here. If you were unhappy with your room, you should have let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 42497 Gull Road, Port Orford, OR 97465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely property is on Garrison Lake, and just a few hundred feet from the beach at Paradise Point. Big rooms, all with private bathrooms, wifi throughout the house, and wonderful full breakfast served daily. The sound of the ocean will lull you to sleep at night, and there is wonderful beachcombing to be had all day. Relax by the fire on a chilly night, or pick a book from the library to read. There are birding/hiking trails on the property, or you can take advantage of several nearby hikes to Humbug Mountain, Blacklock Point, and numerous quiet beaches. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Compass Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.