We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pad Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodsman

Woodsman
529 Main Street, Philomath, OR
541-929-4500
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Philomath
Cuisines: American, Asian
Restaurant details
Philomath, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Pad Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Don't let the look of the outside fool you. This is the place to be if you want Thai food. The inside is quirky -- logging memorabilia and a framed poster of Buddha. Oddly enough, it works. Eat here, you will love it. The portions are huge -- you will leave with leftovers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This is a SURPRISE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is great Thai food in an American food, rustic restaurant. I don' t quite understand it. But, it is really good and the David Lynch atmosphere makes it even better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Thai Food in Philomath...who would have thought!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

An amazing menu, lots of great specials, good drinks and, best of all, great prices! My favorite (if there can be just one) are the salad rolls! If you're on your way to or from the coast, you really should check out this gem. I rate this right up there with the Thai restaurants in Portland!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Asian Food in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This restaurant is a gift to the Willamette Valley. My friend who is a professional chef describes this restaurant as a place where one can step out of a nearby river with fishing boots on and step into this restaurant without feeling out of place. The restaurant is on the fringe of Philomath, which is a small logging town. So, don't make the trip here if you're looking for interior decoration or ambiance. The draw is the food, so get over the giant saw on the wooden-plank walls. The Tom Yun soup is amazing. The Pad Thai is very good. We've been here three times and each time the food was excellent. We've visited Pok-Pok is Portland several times and I prefer the food at the Woodsman over this Portland establishment. I'm guessing that those who won't like the Woodsman do not like spicy food. The food is not an American/Thai hybrid that has been stripped of its flavor and replaced with some form of ketchup sauce--this is the real deal and you won't find Asian food quite this good for a 100 radius.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very mixed experiences, good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband and I live in Philomath, so we have eaten at this restaurant several times. However, we have not returned recently because our experiences have ranged from quite delicious to pretty awful. In fact, the last time we ate there, I asked how many chefs were employed, in case our bad experiences were just with a particular chef. However, the chef is the same, so I'm not sure why the quality varies so greatly. I feel the "American" items are safer and more consistent quality-wise. I love Thai food, but I am often disappointed in the quality of preparation of the Thai meals. The score differences of the other reviews on this site do not surprise me, as they reflect our experiences. We have had two terrific meals, two poor meals, and probably two that were OK. The broccoli in my last Thai order was so raw that it would barely cut with a sharp knife (and I like my vegetables al dente). The level of heat (spice) was over the top, and I enjoy spicy Thai foods, like chicken laab. The amount of spice made it inedible, and that's saying quite a bit for me. I believe the biggest issue with this restaurant is that it offers far, far too many items on the menu. The menu is several pages long, small font, at least a dozen or more choices on each page. If the owners pared down the menu to a few items and prepared them well, I feel they would have more success. I give this restaurant three stars, but actually it's either much better or much worse. I wish they would find success and consistency, however, as their hearts are in the right place and they work very hard. The service is quite good.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodsman also viewed

 
Philomath, OR
 

Been to Woodsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodsman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.