We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated with a touch of nostalgia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rugged Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rugged Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rugged Country Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1807 South East Court Avenue, Pendleton, OR 97801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Pendleton
Helix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Updated with a touch of nostalgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The updating they have done is very good. You can tell by the style and construction it is an older structure, but that is what gives it its charm. The have kept that nostalgic look of 30 years ago, when highway Motels still had some class, but have upgraded the quality and service. I was so comfortable that I slept late and missed the breakfast - I won't do that again as I understand it is also very good. Nice job Rugged Country Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write. Your description of us is exactly what I've been trying to convey--that is--the old-fashioned, little roadside motel that has the charm of yesteryear, yet upgraded. I'm sorry you missed breakfast, so you MUST come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    49
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
49
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Thanks for a very nice stay at RCL...we had a great time during Round Up! The owners have put a lot of small changes and improvements in place and we enjoyed them all...the nice breakfasts and the wine and appetizers in the late afternoon. Taneesha, as mentioned by another guest, was so helpful and cheerful, every day. The rooms were nicely taken care of and everyone was eager to be sure we were enjoying our stay...we'll be back in 2 years, thanks again! Loved the flowers and vegetables planted for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks so much for noticing our improvements. We intend to have even more upgrades by next Round Up. We believe in giving more whenever we can, not less. Having said that, I do want to clarify that we do not normally do appetizers and wine in the evening--just during Round Up, but that is something to think more about. We look forward to seeing you on your next "turn" to do Round Up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Rugged Country Lodge is clean and friendly. They go the extra mile for service. Though not very walkable to downtown, it's a short drive and convenient to local restaurants. Much more charm and charactor than the typical chain hotel and at a comparable price. Highly recommeded for a nice change of pace.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor, so ask for first floor if that is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your thoughtful review. It makes me so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I sure wish we had that elevator, but know that we are ALWAYS willing to carry luggage! And of course, you are right, asking for the main floor is no problem. Please hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were so happy with all the little changes made at Rugged Country since our stay there two years ago. Rooms are nice and have been updated with Pendleton blankets on the beds. Breakfast, which we always enjoyed, is even better. Meats and cheese, croissants, fresh fruit and great Buckin' Bean coffee. Taneesha, was such an enthusiastic employee to greet people in the morning. Enjoyed talking to her on several different days. They have also added a complimentary wine and appetizer time in the afternoons. Nice touch. We will be back for the round up in two years. Our other group will be there next year, making sure we have our favorite place to stay in Pendleton the year after.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Your group is always a joy to have during Round Up. We loved having all of you and I'm so glad you liked our improvements--especially our Pendleton Woolen Mills bed accessories. We had to scramble to get them in before Round Up and we made it. I'm so glad you enjoyed our staff also. We are SO blessed at having great employees. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here four times over the course of four or five years. The rooms are really nice and clean (even better with the new management), the price is right, and the people are really nice. We stayed here one night during the Round-Up and one night afterwards. The downsides his trip was in the early mornings I could hear people running their showers and walking around and there is a train that runs nearby, so each morning I was awakened before I wanted to be awake! If you one of the early risers this may not be a problem, but for me it was bothersome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and expressing your views on the noise level..Our buildings were built in the 50's and built like a fort, so I haven't had many comments on hearing people in the morning, but I sure appreciate your feedback. I know some people don't like the trains, but they are a fact of life in Pendleton!

When you come back next time, please mention this at check in and we can put you in a quieter room. And know we are always more than willing to move someone, if necessary! We aim to please and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Staff was extremely helpful. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable. Staff even helped us carry our luggage up the stairs. We checked in right before the rights doubled for roundup. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for noticing the changes we've made. We are always working harder at being the best we can be. It makes it all worthwhile for folks like you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaconda, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile


A better than average non chain motel that was way over priced because of the Round Up! The staff was very friendly and pleasant. However, I was charged twice the rate quoted for my pet .
The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Owner at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciated your taking the time to write a review. If you stayed during Round Up, it was indeed more money than normal. However, this is the BIGGEST event of the year and as we called all other motels in Pendleton, we found we had some of the lowest Round Up prices, especially if you compare "Apples to Apples"!

If you got charged twice for your pet, I am confident it got corrected. If that is not the case, please do not hesitate to contact the Lodge. We will certainly take care of it immediately. (Just mention you were the one who wrote a review to spark our memory). Thanks again and come back when it isn't Round Up for a great daily rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Address: 1807 South East Court Avenue, Pendleton, OR 97801
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rugged Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.