We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Prodigal Son Brewery and Pub

The Prodigal Son Brewery and Pub
230 SE Court Street, Pendleton, OR 97801
541 276 6090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
jennlee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food seemed greasy, service was slow, not a great amount of beers to choose from. I probably won't eat here again. Also food seemed to take awhile to arrive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    104
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We got our drinks right away. Food took a little time but was worth the wait. The food was good. I had the Pit Boss which I recommend. The fries weren't the best but they're ok. Our waitress did a nice job getting our drinks on time and checking on us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's wonderful to go in to the Prodigal-It feels like coming home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was on a short trip to Pendleton and I stopped only at a few places. I am so glad this is one of them. I had a beer (about three bucks, fifty cents) and my boyfriend had a hard cidar. Both drinks were great. The server brought us each a water as we walked in and we sat there with our chess set and played games. She didn't bug us again and pester us about food or ordering, but she checked to see if we liked the beer, even giving me a sample of one she thought I would like.

I had the feel of a coffee shop. I loved it. If I ever go back to Pendleton, I will go there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fun visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is Pendleton's only brew pub that I know of. It is housed in a cavernous old building that obviously has some history. I neglected to ask the staff about the former uses of the building. I'll save that for next time. Their brews are interesting. They do the same thing most micro-breweries do around holidays by concocting theme beers. I'm sure most of them are palatable. But, there is just something foreign about putting "pumpkin" (for example) flavoring in beer. My recommendation is to stick with your typical favorite brew style if you want to find out how good their products are. They have a variety of ales, a "hefe", even a lager as I recall. The food is average. Someone else in this thread mentioned the calamari tacos. Okay, I'm sure they are fine for some folks. However, deep-fat fried calamari is really just a greasy chuck of batter whether you eat it with your fingers or stuff it into a taco. Why does anyone take something as exotic as squid and throw it into a deep fryer? Anyway, the Prodigal Son is a place worth visiting and I will again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went to meet friends at the Prodigal and loved it. The beer was great...try the Christmas Carole...awesome!
I had the Little Birdie and it was very good...fresh and delicious.
I would highly recommend this place to anyone...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prodigal Son Brewery and Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Prodigal Son Brewery and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prodigal Son Brewery and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.