We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Primo Entertainment and History Lesson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendleton Underground Tour

Pendleton Underground Tour
37 S.W. Emigrant Ave., Pendleton, OR 97801
1-800-226-6398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Pendleton
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Washington
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Primo Entertainment and History Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This beats Seattle Underground hands down. The reenactors played perfect roles and the tour guide did a great job of explaining the various historical artifacts and scenarios. The tour lasted about two hours and was entertaining from start to finish. History buffs will be especially impressed and those just looking for entertainment will find plenty.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chinese Influence in the West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great piece of history of how ugly prejudice created a fascinating , creative response from a resilient people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a blast down there, and I guess part of the reason why the tour is so successful is that they make it very interesting for the visitor. It was amazing to see how people lived underground, in different eras, because we have to realize that the tunnels were first inhabited by Chinese people who helped build the railroad first, and then worked in the mills.
We also learned about the “Sunset Law” (or something called like that), that used to say that Chinese people had no protection after the sun would set west, another reason why they would live underground. The tour guide also said that they were very good at what they did (and it is not hard to believe, considering how well preserved was what we saw this morning).
On our tour we also visited some clubs and bars belonging to the prohibitionist era, and a very interesting and educational “brothel”, who’s been brought back to life (oh well, to a certain extent) to let visitors enjoy it (again, to a certain extent), so that they can see for themselves how things used to work. The tour ended up back where it started, 90 minutes later, and everybody in the group was very satisfied with the way our tour guide conducted the tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had some idiots on our tour that wouldn't shutup- kept talking while the tour guide was which kind of ruined a little bit of it... but that's to no fault of the tour company. Lived in MF for years and never had a clue about any of this history the little town has.

Definitely recommended. Just long enough and just short enough at the same time. Reservations I think were required, or at least highly recommended. Advice for future tourists- let the man talk and everyone else listen. Childish remarks aren't needed, yes, it's a brothel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The tour of the Pendleton Underground is one of the best attraction tours we've ever taken. The information was extremely interesting and our tour guide Brad was entertaining as well as informative. The tour was supposed to last 1-1/2 hours, but ours was almost 2-1/2 hours--helps to tour off season. Plan ahead because the tours fill very rapidly in high season. A must stop!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendleton Underground Tour also viewed

 

Been to Pendleton Underground Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendleton Underground Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.