We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamastslikt Cultural Institute

Tamastslikt Cultural Institute
47106 Wildhorse Blvd,, Pendleton, OR 97801
541-966-9748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Pendleton
Type: Natural History Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The institute chronicles tribal heritage and the impact of Western migration from the Native American perspective.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a nice museum full of history and beauty. The art is wonderful and the cultural exhibits are very well done. We really enjoyed the relaxed pace.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, great exhibits, valuable learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is one of the best Native American cultural centers in the west. Beautifully designed and constructed, the building and exhibits have received much careful thought and reflect considerable research and attention to detail. There are meaningful stories and unique historical perspectives conveyed throughout the center. It is in a beautiful, peaceful setting that fits its natural setting so well. A nice gift shop also. An overall top notch experience!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“a necessary trip for Americans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This museum illustrates in a magnificent way the prehistory and history of the area, as well as the painful string of humiliations, suffering and unjustices imposed upon the original inhabitants by the invaders. It is something to be known.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We travel a lot and really like interpretive centers. We have seen a lot of them over the years. I would have to say that Tamastslikt Cultural Institute was middle of the road. I have to admit that the displays were well constructed and included many interesting items. There were quite a number of audio/visual displays as well. It was laid out as a travel through history of these people. All in all, a good idea.

The execution details were somewhat lacking, however. The little cards with information about the items in the exhibit were very difficult to read. My eyesight is pretty good, but the combination of small letters and poor lighting made reading them a challenge. One other thing that would have been much better would be more description including dates on things, especially the photographs. I had a hard time keeping track of what period of time we were viewing as we went through the exhibits.

The outdoor exhibits were not much to write home about. They did have a problem because one of the structures had been blown down in a storm. But given that, there wasn't much to see out there.

If I were advising future travelers to the Pendleton area, I would suggest that this be on the B List. Worth seeing if you have seen all the rest. There are quite a few interpretive centers we have been to all over the US that we would gladly go back to given the opportunity. This is not one of them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice museum on the reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a native museum by the casino on the reservation and it is very interesting. Well worth a visit. Good historical information of the native culture, life and history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamastslikt Cultural Institute also viewed

 

Been to Tamastslikt Cultural Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamastslikt Cultural Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.