We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper Spur Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Cooper Spur Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10755 Cooper Spur Rd, Parkdale, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkdale
Hamlin Ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have gone to eat here a number of times and I cannot say enough about it. The steak is from a local farm and is some of the best that I have ever had. The service is usually pretty great, the last time we went it took about 15 minutes to find the waitress but hey, stuff happens. Absolutely love this place for dinner!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Yay!! That is so wonderful to hear that you continue to have a great experience with us here at the Crooked Tree Grill at Cooper Spur! We deeply appreciate and value your time to share feedback and admiration. Steak never tasted so good as the locally grown, alfalfa fed, and organic meats of Mt. Shadow Farms. They supply us with some of the tastiest and healthiest meats in the Pacific Northwest. The Executive Chef here at Cooper Spur, Joe Silliman, is devoted to creating and plating meals to enrich the palate and keep you coming back for more! I am so glad to hear he has done just that with you and your loved ones! Come back and check out The Crooked Tree Tavern, the newest addition to our resort and valley’s go-to watering hole for Happy Hour every Monday night from 4pm-8pm. Thanks again, Happy Holidays, and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    4
    2
    12
See reviews for
29
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I got a groupon for a deluxe cabin. The cabin was beautiful inside and out. It even snowed just after we arrived. Couldn't have asked for more. We went to the restaurant the first night. Service was very slow. Considering there were 12 diners (we were 8 of them) it shouldn't have taken half an hour to get our food.

Everything else, housekeeping, the cabin, and the staff were friendly and professional. We already said we'd come again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soap Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I traveled to the area to take our kids on the Polar Express in Hood River. Did not want to stay in town so we researched the area and settled on Cooper spur. Should have researched longer! We stayed in cabin #3. The resort is in a very pretty part of Mt. Hood and the resort is very nice however we experienced a comical series of frustrations! First of all..the cabin was cold. I located the thermostat and was shocked to find it was locked! It was set at 65 deg. so I located the baseboard heaters in the bedrooms and turned them up to take off the chill. We packed in our luggage and were locking up to head to hood river when an employee came to the door and removed half of the "complimentary wood" for the fireplace. As we were in a hurry to leave did not say anything, additional bundles of wood are 5.00. Upon our return the cabin was freezing! Even with the bedroom heat on high! Then proceeded to build a fire in the fireplace to assist with the heat...no luck..they have an open fireplace which are more for setting the mood than being a heat source! We headed to the hot tub which was very nice only to return to a cabin full of smoke and a ceiling fan that would not work.Called the desk and the only bright spot of the stay knocked on the door. Dont recall her name but she was very helpful resetting breakers, turning up the thermostat, etc. Even with the furnace set at 70...we were still getting only lukewarm air through the vents because they are apparently to cheap to allow the heat pump to function on emergency heat which should be used in below freezing temps! I found this out by using a stick to fish through the lockbox and turn up the heat to 80!! Now I understand being enviromentally responsible but for 289.00 a night I expect to be warm and smoke free! Oh ya..there is a warning that the cold mountain air can become heavy and the draft of the chimney will not work efficiently ( smoke out the cabin), however I would think you would have enough common sense to install an insert to allow the fire to be dampered down and force the smoke where it belongs! Anyways...would not recommend for the money these people are charging!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
The Polar Express is so great! I went with my family we really enjoyed our hot cocoas, eating cookies with Santa and dreams of reindeer, we had such a great time! Shamefully the same cannot be said about your stay with us. I would first like to thank you for your business and for your feedback. This feedback enables us look to at our operations and make changes to improve our guest service and customer satisfaction. I am so sorry that you had a less than satisfying experience leaving you and your family with distaste for Cooper Spur Mountain Resort. Coming into freezing levels here on Mt. Hood there should be without a doubt a warm, cozy, and comfortable place for you to come in and feel snug and at ease. A whopping 65 degrees is by no means going to satisfy that. I am speaking with our maintenance staff and have instructed them to make adjustments and resolve this issue immediately to ensure room temperature is at a comfortable level upon checking in. We strive to be environmentally sustainable and consider our guests’ comfort and satisfaction first and foremost. Though a fireplace can perform a variety of functions, it's most important function is to provide an efficient heat source. I recognize that this wasn't what you experienced and for that I apologize. The resort has installed two woodstoves in our Restaurant and Tavern and they have proven to be quite efficient. This is certainly an option we are currently exploring in all of our appropriate units as we work to insure this doesn't happen again. Please except my deepest apologies for falling short of our goals. We are working swiftly to come up with a viable solution to this problem. I am happy to hear that our hot tubs could provide you some relaxation and consolation to this issue. I would love the opportunity to discuss amends with you and will do anything in my power to ensure that your satisfaction is met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We purchased this deal through Groupon and was totally shocked when we got there and actually saw what it looked like. Beautiful rooms that were very clean and decorated perfectly for a cabin feeling. We had a room with two queen beds, we shared it with another couple and had plenty of room for all to be comfortable. Cannot say enough about the food in the on-site bar.....get the fish & chips....the best I have ever had. Then there is the hot tub.....nothing like hanging out in that with snow coming down. I highly recommend and will be going back....next time hopefully to stay in a cabin!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. All of the rooms, condos and cabins on the property offer a warm homey feeling when you walk in them. The rooms are set up to insure that there is enough space for everyone to feel comfortable. Our staff here goes to great lengths to insure that it up holds our standard in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. The tavern on sites welcomes you to come in an enjoy a great meal and good conversation. All of the food that is made in the tavern is all locally bought from local growers.

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us here at Cooper Spur. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found Cooper Spur Mountain via Groupon - and let me tell you - it was an excellent deal. We got the family room which had 1 queen bed and 2 singles. The beds were the most comfortable beds we've had in a hotel. The room was toasty warm, with plenty of pillows and blankets. There was a large flat screen tv and dvd player in the room. The bathroom was a nice size. The rooms were very, very clean. The only negative is that there is not a window to open (the rooms are set off of a indoor corridor/hallway) and the room got a little warm for us - and no way to cool it off - but really, its such a minor thing. The room and staff were amazing. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is offered for an additional price, but mainly consists of boxed individual cereals and juice. So not the most exciting, but Parkdale is right down the hill with several choices to choose from. Now, for dinner - the restaurant at Cooper Spur was fresh and delicious! The restaurant was warm and inviting and food was served quickly. Cooper Spur also offers cabins and a house to rent. The grounds have a hot tub. The house for rent has a private hot tub and BBQ.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. Cooper Spur does offer great deals for your stay here. The lodge rooms do consist of one bed (king) to family style (1 queen and 2 twins) for families looking to have enough room for everyone. Yes the way that the lodge rooms are set up are located inside a corridor/hallway and the reasoning is because when the owners who built the resort had joined all of the lodge room together so that when there were massive snowfalls that the doors were not blocked by the snow. It gives me great joy to know that the staff up holds our standard in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Cooper Spur does offer a continental breakfast on the weekends and holiday periods at an additional price. The restaurant does serve some of the fresh and delicious food in the upper Hood River valley.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a good time at this well located hotel. Rooms were just fine and clean. Location is great. Restaurant is reasonably priced and good. Would definitely return. That is really all I have got and hope that this last sentence gets this review above the minimum of 200 characters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. It give us great joy to know that our staff up holds our standards in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. We are located at the base of Mt. Hood on the north side of the mountain, with great views of Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams and Mt. Rainier. The restaurant offers great meals where all of the food is locally purchased from the farm fresh meats to the locally picked mushrooms that are brought in to prepare the meals.

It was a pleasure to have you and your guests stay here at Cooper Spur where we look forward to seeing you and your guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding and really enjoyed the location (we married just down the road at Mt Hood Bed and Breakfast which is also fantastic!), the views and the private log home. The rest of our friends, family and bridal party stayed at other cabins and rooms at the resort however our private log home was situated well off by itself for great privacy.

Cynthia at Cooper Spur resort was particularly nice to work with and was helpful as we worked to coordinate all the room and cabin assignments over the span of a couple months.

The bar at the resort usually closes at 10pm but stayed open especially late for all our guests after the wedding as well that were staying at the resort so the celebration could continue. Very nice of them and lots of our friends enjoyed the views, rooms and hot tub area as well.

I would recommend this place to friends and family both for either a fun weekend or for bigger special events.

Room Tip: Cabin #2 has great views and is very private but the best is the private log home - which of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am happy that your wife, you and your guests had a great time here at Cooper Spur. Yes the resort has Private Log Home that is located within walking distance from the resort, with great views of the north side of Mt. Hood.

Cynthia and the staff go above and beyond to accommodate the guest needs whether it means coordinating room assignments that are sent to us for a wedding party or keeping the Crooked Tree Tavern open later so that the guest can come, relax and enjoy great conversation while they are attending a wedding.

We are very happy that everyone had a great time and enjoyed themselves while staying here at Cooper Spur. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cooper Spur Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Spur Mountain Resort

Address: 10755 Cooper Spur Rd, Parkdale, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Parkdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is a rustic mountain lodge and resort specializing in family vacations, weddings, retreats and group events. Located on the magnificent north side of Mt. Hood and set in the midst of the beautiful Mt. Hood National Forest, our lodge is surrounded by pine trees with views of three different mountain peaks; Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams, and Mt. Rainier. Just 23 miles south of Hood River, Oregon, and 12 miles from Mt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort, Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is ideal for those seeking year- round mountain adventures. It's a quick and easy 90 minute drive from Portland, yet is secluded to allow guests to remove themselves from their stressful daily lives to enjoy the surrounding nature. Accommodations include lodge hotel rooms, lodge condos, cabins, and a 4-bedroom log home (perfect for large families or corporate retreats). The peeled log structures present a charm and elegance you would expect in this mountain environment. All units have woodburning fireplaces with the exception of our lodge hotel rooms. All of our units also have refrigerators so guests can bring along meals and snacks. The lodge condos and cabins have kitchenettes and the 4-bedroom log house has a fully-equipped kitchen; ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Cooper Spur Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Spur Mountain Hotel Parkdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.