We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love Love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooper Spur Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Cooper Spur Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
10755 Cooper Spur Rd, Parkdale, OR   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkdale
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love, Love Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We purchased this deal through Groupon and was totally shocked when we got there and actually saw what it looked like. Beautiful rooms that were very clean and decorated perfectly for a cabin feeling. We had a room with two queen beds, we shared it with another couple and had plenty of room for all to be comfortable. Cannot say enough about the food in the on-site bar.....get the fish & chips....the best I have ever had. Then there is the hot tub.....nothing like hanging out in that with snow coming down. I highly recommend and will be going back....next time hopefully to stay in a cabin!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. All of the rooms, condos and cabins on the property offer a warm homey feeling when you walk in them. The rooms are set up to insure that there is enough space for everyone to feel comfortable. Our staff here goes to great lengths to insure that it up holds our standard in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. The tavern on sites welcomes you to come in an enjoy a great meal and good conversation. All of the food that is made in the tavern is all locally bought from local growers.

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us here at Cooper Spur. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    4
    2
    12
See reviews for
29
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found Cooper Spur Mountain via Groupon - and let me tell you - it was an excellent deal. We got the family room which had 1 queen bed and 2 singles. The beds were the most comfortable beds we've had in a hotel. The room was toasty warm, with plenty of pillows and blankets. There was a large flat screen tv and dvd player in the room. The bathroom was a nice size. The rooms were very, very clean. The only negative is that there is not a window to open (the rooms are set off of a indoor corridor/hallway) and the room got a little warm for us - and no way to cool it off - but really, its such a minor thing. The room and staff were amazing. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is offered for an additional price, but mainly consists of boxed individual cereals and juice. So not the most exciting, but Parkdale is right down the hill with several choices to choose from. Now, for dinner - the restaurant at Cooper Spur was fresh and delicious! The restaurant was warm and inviting and food was served quickly. Cooper Spur also offers cabins and a house to rent. The grounds have a hot tub. The house for rent has a private hot tub and BBQ.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. Cooper Spur does offer great deals for your stay here. The lodge rooms do consist of one bed (king) to family style (1 queen and 2 twins) for families looking to have enough room for everyone. Yes the way that the lodge rooms are set up are located inside a corridor/hallway and the reasoning is because when the owners who built the resort had joined all of the lodge room together so that when there were massive snowfalls that the doors were not blocked by the snow. It gives me great joy to know that the staff up holds our standard in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. Cooper Spur does offer a continental breakfast on the weekends and holiday periods at an additional price. The restaurant does serve some of the fresh and delicious food in the upper Hood River valley.

It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a good time at this well located hotel. Rooms were just fine and clean. Location is great. Restaurant is reasonably priced and good. Would definitely return. That is really all I have got and hope that this last sentence gets this review above the minimum of 200 characters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to offer us a review. It give us great joy to know that our staff up holds our standards in cleanliness and customer satisfaction. We are located at the base of Mt. Hood on the north side of the mountain, with great views of Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams and Mt. Rainier. The restaurant offers great meals where all of the food is locally purchased from the farm fresh meats to the locally picked mushrooms that are brought in to prepare the meals.

It was a pleasure to have you and your guests stay here at Cooper Spur where we look forward to seeing you and your guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding and really enjoyed the location (we married just down the road at Mt Hood Bed and Breakfast which is also fantastic!), the views and the private log home. The rest of our friends, family and bridal party stayed at other cabins and rooms at the resort however our private log home was situated well off by itself for great privacy.

Cynthia at Cooper Spur resort was particularly nice to work with and was helpful as we worked to coordinate all the room and cabin assignments over the span of a couple months.

The bar at the resort usually closes at 10pm but stayed open especially late for all our guests after the wedding as well that were staying at the resort so the celebration could continue. Very nice of them and lots of our friends enjoyed the views, rooms and hot tub area as well.

I would recommend this place to friends and family both for either a fun weekend or for bigger special events.

Room Tip: Cabin #2 has great views and is very private but the best is the private log home - which of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am happy that your wife, you and your guests had a great time here at Cooper Spur. Yes the resort has Private Log Home that is located within walking distance from the resort, with great views of the north side of Mt. Hood.

Cynthia and the staff go above and beyond to accommodate the guest needs whether it means coordinating room assignments that are sent to us for a wedding party or keeping the Crooked Tree Tavern open later so that the guest can come, relax and enjoy great conversation while they are attending a wedding.

We are very happy that everyone had a great time and enjoyed themselves while staying here at Cooper Spur. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband I were married at Cooper Spur on August 3, 2013. Once we saw Cooper Spur, we knew it was the only place we wanted to have our wedding. We are both from the East Coast and Cooper Spur gave us the opportunity to house and feed all our guests under one roof - something that was very important to us. The grounds at Cooper Spur are stunningly beautiful, the vibe is relaxed, the food by Joe Silliman and his staff is outstanding, and Sara Germann, the new event coordinator, is a life saver. Our wedding weekend ultimately was flawless. On the day of our wedding, I did not worry about anything - something most brides can't say. The staff at Cooper Spur worked to ensure that everything was worked out down to the smallest detail and on the day of, it all went off without a hitch. Without question, choosing Cooper Spur for the most important day of our lives was the best decision we could have made.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for the review we are very happy that we could make your wedding memorable for you and your guests. The resort is a great place to have a wedding since we can accommodate lodging and also off the site for your event. The staff here at Cooper Spur like to go above and beyond the make that everything runs smoothly on your big day so that the bride has nothing to worry about on her big day.

Again we are very happy that you chose Cooper Spur to have your wedding and that everyone had a great time. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Cooper Spur in September. During our stay, we hosted a bridal breakfast on Saturday for a friend who was getting married in Mt. Hood that evening. While planning the event, the events coordinator, Sara, was very helpful and always responded promptly to any questions we had or changes we wanted to make. The event took place at the Crooked Tree Tavern- it was very cozy and intimate. On the day of the event, the room was set up to accommodate our group of 17. The chef came out and greeted us and explained all of our food options (we opted for coffee, tea, fruit, yogurt and granola, pastries and a french toast-like dish). I have to say that the vanilla bean yogurt that he made was some of the best yogurt I have ever tasted! The rest of the food was excellent as well. There was also a waitress there who was very helpful. It was a great way to start the busy wedding day and I am so happy that we decided to have our event at The Cooper Spur.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are happy that everyone had a great time at the bridal breakfast. The Crooked Tree Tavern is a new addition to Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, which was added in this summer. It is a very nice cozy area that can accommodate up to a small group for a gathering such as a bridal breakfast. Our events coordinator, Sara and Chef, Joe work well together to make sure that everyone needs are met and that the food we provide meets the guest’s expectation.

We are very happy that everyone enjoyed the bridal breakfast and look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Last weekend, my husband and I had our wedding at the Cooper Spur Mountain Resort. We could not be more pleased with our decision. We had guests coming in from all over (Chicago, California, Hawaii, Florida, and New Hampshire to name a few). Not a single person had a bad thing to say about their stay.

To begin, I worked with Sara Germann, the coordinator and she was beyond professional. I was a first time bride and had pretty much no idea what I was doing. She helped me every step of the way, providing answers as well as giving me options on how I should do things, but never pressuring me to do one thing or the other. Honestly, it was like having a friend with all the inside information that I needed. She was an absolute pleasure to work with from beginning to end. If it wasn't so expensive (as all weddings are), I wouldn't hesitate to do it all again.

As for food, Joe Silliman went above and beyond. I can't count how many times throughout the night I heard from one of our guests, "This is the BEST wedding food I've ever had". He was very flexible with any requests that we made (I'm lactose intolerant and my husband hates mayo or creamy things). The saddest part of the evening was that everyone kept talking about how delicious the rolls were, but I was too busy mingling to get a chance to try one. Oh well, guess I'll just have to go back.

There were so many other people involved that made our day beyond amazing, but here's the bottom line - I love this place and everyone in it. I can not WAIT to go back and just enjoy a weekend there, without the chaos of a wedding!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are very happy that everyone had a great time at your wedding.

Our wedding coordinator, Sara Germann very understands on how to help a first time bride with herself being one. She gives the bride options and does not pressure them into doing anything that seems to work better for your big day.

Here at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort the Executive Chef, Joe Silliman does go above and beyond to make sure that the food meets the expectations and we do cater to everyone’s needs when it comes to your big day. Joe does make his rolls from scratch here onsite at Cooper Spur.

Again we are very happy that your husband, you and your guests had a great time here and enjoyed the experience that Cooper Spur Mountain Resort had to offer for you wedding. We look forward to seeing you and your guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cooper Spur Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Spur Mountain Resort

Address: 10755 Cooper Spur Rd, Parkdale, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Parkdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Parkdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is a rustic mountain lodge and resort specializing in family vacations, weddings, retreats and group events. Located on the magnificent north side of Mt. Hood and set in the midst of the beautiful Mt. Hood National Forest, our lodge is surrounded by pine trees with views of three different mountain peaks; Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams, and Mt. Rainier. Just 23 miles south of Hood River, Oregon, and 12 miles from Mt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort, Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is ideal for those seeking year- round mountain adventures. It's a quick and easy 90 minute drive from Portland, yet is secluded to allow guests to remove themselves from their stressful daily lives to enjoy the surrounding nature. Accommodations include lodge hotel rooms, lodge condos, cabins, and a 4-bedroom log home (perfect for large families or corporate retreats). The peeled log structures present a charm and elegance you would expect in this mountain environment. All units have woodburning fireplaces with the exception of our lodge hotel rooms. All of our units also have refrigerators so guests can bring along meals and snacks. The lodge condos and cabins have kitchenettes and the 4-bedroom log house has a fully-equipped kitchen; ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Cooper Spur Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Spur Mountain Hotel Parkdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.