We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant

The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant
34805 Brooten Rd., Pacific City, OR
+1 503-965-7337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Pacific City
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Café, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A delightful place for hearty breakfasts and delicious home baked scones, breads, and sweet roles. Every egg dish is a winner--- especially the hangtown fry.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    24
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when in Pacific City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stopped by for lunch when visiting the northern Oregon coast on a day trip from Portland. Found a welcoming, down-home environment, ordered a simple sandwich (on delicious whole grain bread) and salad lunch from a very friendly and attentive waitress. Clearly, this is a favorite place with the locals, and I can see why...folks are treated nicely, served promptly, and fed well! Purchased some baked goods before leaving - muffins,scones, and cookies - and now treating/rationing myself from the freezer. Everything has tasted wonderful. You can't go wrong at this terrific spot in Pacific City!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Clean Bright Atmosphere with Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were part of a 17 person post wedding day brunch group, so it took awhile to get a table together, but they accommodated us nicely. Since I had already eaten some that morning, I only had one of their wonderful scones. Mine was white chocolate and blueberries, and was quite good. My wife, a scone fan, really liked mine a little better than her gluten free marionberry scone. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal, and as I mentioned in the title, the service was friendly and attentive. I also ordered hot chocolate and it was just OK.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our breakfast here. Popular spot with the locals. Super friendly service and good food. If I remember right, if you like eggs, you better like them scrambled, because I think that's the only way they serve them. ;-)

If I ever get the chance to return to Cape Kiwanda, I will certainly eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Is Right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were staying in nearby Neskowin and enjoyed lunch at Grateful Bread on a Friday afternoon. The service was excellent as was our meal. We each enjoyed a different menu item and declared them to all be delicious. The bread accompanying the salads was superb. I went back the next day to purchase a baguette for our evening meal. In addition to bread, the pastry case is stocked with scones, pies, cookies and other delights. My husband wanted to return for Sunday breakfast. We waited a bit as this is a popular spot! Well worth the wait though: yummy omelets, great coffee and scones. Friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.