We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craftsman Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Craftsman Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Craftsman Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   PO Box 303, 35255 4th St., Pacific City, OR 97135   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Pacific City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spring Branch, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Rate Accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Craftsman Bed and Breakfast's accommodations are first class, and my wife and I definitely would like to stay there again in the future. It is also a favorite destination for bikers who like to tour the Oregon coast.

Michael, the owner, is a very talented woodworker, and his fine craftsmanship appears throughout this wonderful B and B. He also has an interesting eclectic salt and pepper shaker collection, which he loves to talk about—we liked the Mount St. Helens' piece! Wine tasting is also available, but unfortunately we only stayed there one night. The next time, we will spend more time sitting in Michael's beautiful adirondack chairs and enjoy the lovely garden while sipping Oregon's finest Pinot Noir!

Green Features: This B and B is green certified! Michael created a wonderful booklet which is available in every room, and it explains in organized detail the accommodations, how the B and B was renovated to be green certified.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for the review. I like the Mt St Helens S&P's as well, a before and after piece, glazed from ash created during the eruption. We are a good, day 2, stopping point for bikes riding down the Oregon Coast and I can store your bikes in the garage. Hope to see you on 2 wheels next time you visit Oregon. If you want to spend more time, I can help you make your own set of outdoor chairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    29
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
162
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakridge, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I manage the Double Diamond Lodge Bed and Breakfast in Oakridge, OR, so I understand what it takes to create a high quality guest experience. Mike is a gracious host, very accommodating and always available if guests need anything. The house has beautiful CVG old growth Fir throughout, and every detail has been considered. Espresso machine, high quality bathroom and light fixtures, lovely table settings, and a guest fridge stocked with reusable steel water bottles filled with filtered water. The bathrooms are huge, and ours had a giant soaking tub, stand up shower, and beautiful sink. The bed was firm and cozy. There were even plates of baked treats for the sampling each afternoon when we returned from our adventures! A giant stretch of beach is a short 10 minute walk from the BnB.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It's always great to have other innkeepers as guests. The Mackintosh Room has the giant tub. I can't wait to get to Oakridge and see how tourism is changing the town. Now I guess I should fill up the tires on my bike and get into better shape to take advantage of the all the trails. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Craftsman is a lovely B&B. Mike (the owner) is there to assist you with whatever you need. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was awesome. Great job renovating the place! The addition of the hot tub was a great idea as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I like the hot tub too, perfect spot for star gazing on a clear night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very warm inviting and cozy. The owner has worked hard at renovating and making great breakfast to equal a great relaxing beach experience. He specializes in yummy unusual dishes. Is nature conscious and it shows. Very friendly and accomadating. great food and views..Unfortunately my trip was cut short and it was stormy but still great day at the coast..The French toast bananas foster was great. Along with fresh jams, juice and individual brewed exspressos. Loved it.. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Stormy at the coast, February is the best time. For you storm watchers, look for a swell over 25 feet and the waves at Cape Kiawanda will be rocking. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Craftsman Bed and Breakfast using a Groupon. We had a wonderful weekend (it also helped that the weather was SO amazing!) Mike greeted us at the door and showed us our room (The MacIntosh.) We met another couple shortly thereafter. Breakfasts were great...waffle french toast one morning and fritatta (sp-?) the next morning. Brownies and cookies were served each evening. Mike was an amazing host and was very friendly. Seemed to really enjoy what he was doing. He has done a fabulous job restoring the house. The location was great...we just parked our truck and walked everywhere on Saturday. We ate dinner at The Delicate Palatte (sp-?) in the bar (where you get both the bar menu and dinner menu.) We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and my husband has already said he would be interested in going again! Thanks Mike for everythiing!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Groupon deal brings a lot of new faces to the B&B and Pacific City in the Winter. I'm glad the weather was behaving for your getaway. The tip for The Delicate Palate is a good one, the bar is nice a cozy and there are more options and smaller plates to share. A husband approved stay at a B&B is my goal. It starts with my no lace, no dollie policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two nights in lovely Pacific City and "The Craftsman" poved a wonderful and perfect base for us. I only wish we could have stayed longer to be honest.

The house is a beautifully restored Craftsman and the work and effort which has gone into making it a comfortable and characterful Bed and Breakfast is more than commendable, it is quite awe inspiring.

Michael has achieved something very special and we were amazed at the amount of work and standards of craftsmanship around the house. He most certainly make you feel like an underachiever ! :)

His breakfasts are delicious and generous without being over the top ( which can be the case in many B&B) and his afternoon "goodies" absolutely lovely.

We stayed in the Mackintosh Room which was full of charm and character, the bed incredibly comfortable and I must admit the bathroom was a delight to someone like myself who loves Baths. The Tub is enormous, rescued from a Hospital and almost big enough to swim in a !

Well certainly long and deep enough for the rather rotund individual that I am !

Michael is a perfect host and always happy and ready to help with suggestions for places to dine out or suggestions for day trips and there are also countless tourist brochures and books on local history if you feel like a little reading in the main lounge.

And we were delighted that there was no TV , a plus in our opinion, this is a vacation to get away from our daily lives, a time to read and talk to one another. I cannot believe some people are so welded to their TV sets that even a couple of days without becomes an issue of disgruntlement. Especially when Michael makes it clear on the website.

The Water and Soda in the fridge is really a nice touch and much appreciated, and all in all I think "The Craftsman" is a perfect little gem of a place. Somewhere which has a bit of soul and provides home comforts without being twee. It is not a motel or a hotel and thank goodness for that !

The House is spotless which is also crucial when it comes to accommodation.

My only tiny suggestion (no biggie) would be for a couple ( make it 4 !) of hangers on the door hook for Ladies like myself with more formal Blazers and skirts/dresses to hang. The coast is a casual place but some of us still prefer the impracticality of those garments to fleeces and jeans ! :)

Lovely, lovely place, charm, character, great host and we most certainly hope to return in not too distant a future. And great value in my opinion too.

As a couple of "sissy" European Travellers unused to the potential natural disasters Americans seem so comfortable with, the Tsunami map provided us with an excellent topic of conversation and photos were taken of the said map, not something we see every day ! :)

Keep up the good work Michael , you are doing a splendid job !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraftsmanBB, Owner at Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us during your trip to Pacific City. With all your reviews, it's nice to have such kind words. I do have hangars, era correct, in the drawer of the dressing table. They clank around when left on the back of the door. At the coast we do take the threat of a Tsunami is something our guests should know about. But because we have no control, we do make light of it the best we can around here. I'm glad you liked the nugget of information on what to do, just in case. The Mackintosh Room is our most popular, I'm sure it's the tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Outstanding breakfasts, something different each day. Excellent amenities, Homemade goodies each afternoon, Comfy beds, Wonderful host knows the area very well and can offer suggestions and directions for the area.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are decorated in the craftsman style and all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craftsman Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craftsman Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 303, 35255 4th St., Pacific City, OR 97135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Pacific City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craftsman Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1921 and renovated in 2005 to retain the details of the Craftsman era and to include the comforts and conveniences of today. Located on the beautiful Oregon Coast in a tiny town near Cape Kiwanda, Cascade Head, Cape Lookout and Cape Meares lighthouse. Everything in town is within walking distance. Park your car, relax and unplug. No lace or doilies here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Craftsman Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craftsman Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.