We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Save Saved
You added Inn At Cape Kiwanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pacific City
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ugh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Toward the beginning of the year, we made our reservations, specifying two bed options. When we arrived a couple of weeks ago, our bed options were not available and we were told that it's "first come, first serve". We absolutely were not given this information at the time of reservation. The first room we were shown had a direct (ugly) view of construction machinery and the wrong size bed. We were assertive in pursuing another bed arrangement and then were given a room with a better view and a sofa sleeper as a 2nd bed. The room was clean, and pretty standard middle-of-the road fare. The environment, however, was not appealing. The room entrance was flanked by an RV park. The view side was flanked by a very busy road with many Harleys, diesel trucks, construction machinery and loud pickup trucks, and a view of a restaurant parking lot of 50 or so vehicles on the other side of the road. The road noise, along with the addition of M80's being set off, beginning around 10:30 p.m., on both sides of the hotel made for a very unrestful experience. Sleep loss was further enhanced by a very thin mattress on the sofa bed. We did not stay a second night, as we had originally planned. Instead, we chose a Marriott Courtyard Inn, away from the coast, where we had a very nice room, peace and quiet, a staff that honored our reservation, as well as a much lower room rate. We will not return to this inn in the future.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    84
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
160
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BATTLE GROUND,WA USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

We have stayed at this hotel many times.the hotel is very nice.very clean.every room has a balcony facing the ocean with a spectacular view.Oour only complaint was the noise of traffic all night long.i thought this was a sleepy little town?No,even still riding bikes around the area is very nice some challenging hills as you get out of town.There is also a decent restaurant accross the street and a fun little coffee shop outside the hotel on the ground level.I also became disabled after my first stay and found since then they do provide accessable rooms

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

Kiwanda Point is a more laid back place than most of the cities on this part of the coast. The Inn has pretty standard motel type rooms but each has a view of the ocean and a haystack rock. The brew pub on the beach has pretty good food and beer. This is a place best suited for relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

Pacific City is a sleepy town on the Oregon Coast, between Lincoln City and Tillamook.

Every room at the Inn at Cape Kiwanda has a view of the ocean, although there is a street and large parking area between the Inn and the beach.

We upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi tub, and the price was reasonable in the winter (between Christmas and New Years). For the summer season the prices are higher.

The room was nicely decorated and everything seemed quite new. Gas fireplace, comfortable chairs, and small balcony.

There's not a lot to do within walking distance of the Inn, and even in the main part of Pacific City (a couple miles away).

Across the street from the Inn is a restaurant owned by the same company, Pelican Pub. The food there was really good, and we ate there for lunch and dinner. Good clam chowder, and several microbrews made on the premises.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a weekend in Pacific City. It started out with big hopes and dreams of being pampered at the Inn at Cape Kiwanda. We decided to spend a little more than we would just to have some of those extras like a jacuzzi in our room, breakfast in bed and massages. When we checked in on Saturday there was a mishap and they had us checking in the next day. Of course they did not make us feel like it was their mistake. They did not offer us anything to compensate the situation. Well, the assistant manager tried to rearrange things and it turned out that our first night would be in one of their deluxe rooms with no jacuzzi. The room was clean and well maintained. However, the view that we had was mostly of the construction site of a new hotel. We did see the ocean. Try and book a room in the middle of the motel, best view. We are down to earth so we just went with it. Later on the assistant manager offered us two free movies (reg. price 6.00) to make up for the problem. Thanks!
So, next day we got up and had their breakfast in our room. It was nothing to rave about at all. Not worth the price. Coffee was good. We moved into the other room around 11 am. It was worse than the first room in regards to the view. We asked to move but no more pet rooms were available. We had our dog with us. So, later on we did find some champagne in the room but there was no note so we were concerned about drinking it thinking that we would be charged. So, checking out...they wanted to ring me up for more than what I was originally quoted for two nights in the jacuzzi room. It was a mess. The assistant manager had to speak with the night auditor regarding the price. The auditor was out of town until Thursday. I don't understand how there is only one person who can figure out how much guests can pay and what they are paying for. So, it was not as relaxing as we would have liked and I am still not sure how much our weekend cost. If you are interested in good service, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

We always enjoy our stay at the Inn. We brought friends this time and hoped the Inn would be as we remembered it. It turned out to be even better. All of us were very pleased. And the staff is as friendly and helpful as any we have ever found, anywhere.

I lived in the area (Mt. Hebo & Beaver) and fished off the Cape as often as I could. So south Tillamook County and Pacific City are kind of "home." Before the Inn was built, I used to stay at the old Anchorage in PC and eat at the diner on the site of the Inn.

It is a long drive or flight from Oklahoma City, but the Inn is worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

First off...Pacific City has awakened! When I was growing up in Willamina during the 50's and 60's Pacific City was a sleepy place with not much going on. At Cape Kiawanda there was a restaurant and of course the Dory Boats and that wonderful beach.

Secondly, your Inn is fabulous! The setting is perfect. The accommodation price seems to be reasonable. The staff is helpful, pleasant, and friendly. The décor is just right, the beds are comfortable.

Third, the Pelican is a great place, also friendly and accommodating.

My granddaughter and I had a great time. We really appreciated the 12 noon checkout. It allowed us the luxury of sleeping in and not needing to hurry in our leave taking.

I liked your Inn so much that I made reservations for my spouse and myself in mid December. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn At Cape Kiwanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Address: 33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Pacific City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pacific City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Inn At Cape Kiwanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Cape Kiwanda Hotel Pacific City
Hotel At Cape Kiwanda
At Cape Kiwanda Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Cape Kiwanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.