We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn At Cape Kiwanda to your Saves list
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Drive on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great stay at the inn, we traveled the entire coast in the spring and this was a favorite.
Great views, pet friendly. Pub food was pub food. Cool dune and a beach to drive on. There is a parking lot and it is close to the road but you have to be looking complain to not see the ocean 50' behind it.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear JFruitsDad,

Thank you for stopping by ‘Your Little Beach Town’ to visit us! I’m glad you had a great time and enjoyed our ocean views! We hope to see you on your next trip to the Oregon Coast.

Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    91
    16
    13
    8
See reviews for
52
184
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Fabulous views of the water from the deck (yes, there's a parking lot in front, but with that much ocean, who cares?), clean and comfortable room with two queens, beach chairs and towels. We had a beautiful two nights at the Inn and the weather couldn't have been better. We loved having a sink, mini fridge and microwave, plus in-room Starbucks Coffee. Sat on the porch and drank a beer from the Pelican Bar and watched the sun set. The only improvement might be air circulation - it got a bit stuffy in the room when we closed the windows due to the traffic noise in the morning. The location is steps away from the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Beachbabe8662,

Thank you for spending a couple of nights at The Inn at Cape Kiwanda! It sounds like you had a blast. Most of my best photos are from The Pelican’s patio sipping a beer. Sorry to hear your room felt stuffy, we do have a fan in the closets and a separate air conditioner as well to help with this. I hope you were able to find them okay. Come visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The list is long on what to like...first, every room has a view. The balcony is really great with comfortable chairs and covered overhead, a super spot to enjoy Haystack Rock and people-watch too. The little kitchenette is helpful, and i appreciated the starbucks coffee to make in the morning. The beds and pillows are super nice, and the room is squeeky clean. In the lobby you will find high powered binoculars to look at boats, or birdlife, or surfers near the rock. You can even choose covered parking if you like. Take a free dvd to your room if it's raining, or hike that great beach/dunes/park across the street. I also love the Pelican Brewery across the street for good food and drink. I could go on and on, since i really liked this place. The only negative is the beach parking lot that you look over, and i suppose the room rate. But it is competitive for the coast. I had originally planned to come for one night, but stayed for two. This is a new favorite for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Cart45,

Glad to hear we made a favorite’s list of yours! Many guests enjoy the binoculars in the lobby, it’s quite entertaining to watch the Dory Boats and Kayaker’s out in the ocean. If you’re lucky you can be first to the binoculars when a pod of whales swim by!

See you next time!

Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed one night here on our trip to the Oregon coast. We had a nice double room but it overlooked the parking lot of the Pelican Pub in front of the hotel. It definitely was not a quiet, secluded spot. We did go to the Pelican Pub for dinner and besides having to wait for a table it was OK. The difference between this hotel and others we stayed in on the coast was that it did not include breakfast and the location was not as picturesque. We went to the Stimulus Cafe to pick up something to eat for breakfast. I would honestly say that while the hotel was nice I would pick somewhere else to stay in the area on my next visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Nanasnest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate all feedback and I am sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. Our hotel does sit across the street from the beach, still providing a great ocean view but yes, there is a parking lot for the public beach in front of us. I am glad that you will return to Pacific City. It sounds like perhaps our sister property The Cottages at Cape Kiwanda might be a better fit for you. They are completely ocean front and very private as they are back off the road. They also have an on-site concierge team who would be happy to help with grocery shopping for breakfast or ordering you something from The Pelican. If you need anything else please call my directly.

Thank you,
Kim Carr
General Manager
503-965-7001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Ideal for business or family meetings/gatherings/team-building or the like. Somewhat isolated and removed, the Inn is located on a beautiful beach in a gorgeous area between the cheese-making towns of Bandon and Tillamook on what is decidedly the most beautiful stretch of coastline in the Western US, The Oregon Coast. With a wide range of "things to do" from horseback riding to deep sea fishing, clamming, visiting cheese makers to hiking, surfing, sand dune sledding, bicycling, and even just relaxing with a book on the beach, this is a great spot for a business or family trip as well as for a romantic long weekend. The local eateries are OK, for a night or two. Then the urge kicks in for something better and that requires a drive, both to and from, on tricky, curvy, sometimes dangerous roads in the dark. One hopes that a wonderful, little romantic spot with a stellar chef will open soon in the area, taking advantage of the abundance of fresh everything and provide a place to have dinner after the grandkids have been sent for pizzas and their parents have had their beers and fish & chips at the local brewery pub. It could do very well.

Room Tip: Top Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Warm welcome from the front desk. Spacious, clean guestroom, with spectacular view of Haystack rock and waves across the street. Top notch touches; toiletries, chocolates, complimentary water, Starbuck's coffee and Tazo tea in the room. Comfortable bed. Left the slider open overnight, and though some of the traffic going by was disturbing, went to sleep listening to the wash of the waves onto the beach.
Walked the beach in the morning, watching the Dories landing and launching.
Doesn't get better than this. Great stay.

Room Tip: A rooms face the ocean. We stayed on the third floor. An elevator serves all floors, and there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Jagar451,

How lovely to hear about your relaxing stay with us! I’m glad you got to see the Dories come out, perhaps next year you’ll be able to attend our Dory Days festival weekend or maybe The Blessing of the Dory Fleet? We have lots of activities surrounding our iconic dories and would love to share them with you! Just give a call if you’re interested in learning more about them! We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first stay but won't be our last
So close to home we usually come for the day and drive home.
They were installing new king mattresses so our checking was delayed but it was worth the wait. Rom 309 is a great suite with king bed, sofa , microwave,refrig. And gas fireplace.
The weather was so warm and clear we spent the afternoon on the deck people watching.
Did I tell you? We celebrated 58 years of marriage and they supplied us with a bottle of the bubbly with champagne glasses!! Wheee!
A great place close to Portland. Best views of Oregon coast.

Room Tip: 309 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificCityYLBT, Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Patpett,

Thank you so much for enjoying your wonderful anniversary with us! Congratulations again on 58 wonderful years. We are glad you enjoyed our new king beds! It was a big project, we appreciate your patience during the check-in process. All of them have now been installed and we are thrilled that our guests love them!

Thank you,

Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn At Cape Kiwanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Address: 33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Pacific City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At Cape Kiwanda 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn At Cape Kiwanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Cape Kiwanda Hotel Pacific City
Hotel At Cape Kiwanda
At Cape Kiwanda Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn At Cape Kiwanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.