We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Cliff Inn

Stone Cliff Inn
17900 S Clackamas River Dr (Hwy 224), Oregon City, OR 97045
503 631 7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stone Cliff Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Oregon City
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carver Bridge
Yacolt, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Above the Clackamas. River and a fabulous view. Food was good too. I had an appetizer and salad and still had to take a box home. Was an enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    42
    14
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Or
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Missunderstood Stone Cliff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is not my first visit to Stone Cliff and probably won't be my last. I find it is well worth the experience. Some reviews have said the bugs were bad the service was slow and the food was cold. If you eat outside above the beautiful Clackamas River, one couldn't expect much less, but they also have indoor dinning. Also, Stone Cliff is very popular and busy, which could explain why they are overwhelmed and a little slow. I go there to relax and "smell the roses", so I go a little early and miss the crowds. On our last visit, we were slow and they were more than happy to oblige. P.S. All of there menu items I have tried were excellent, but I would heartily recommend the ribs. jim

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“STONE CLIFF INN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great view of the river from the outside deck or window table on the inside. Friendly staff attentive to your needs. Halibut was most tasty, could have been a little bigger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The stone cliff inn is a restaurant that looks like a beautiful log cabin and kind of sits back off the road on a hill.. The scenery is so amazing. Just breath taking and beautiful. We were on a twilight tour, and couldn't believe the scene were filmed right off the parking lot. It is a great place to hike as well. Besides twilight, it is a great place to eat. Don't expect to pay Mcdonalds prices, but the food is so good ,and just elegant. It's worth stopping in for lunch. If you are ever in the Carver area, stop and grab a bite, you'll be glad you did.. They even have a kids menu that's great for picky eaters

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie,Oregon
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable - this time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Personally, I had dropped this place from consideration but it was selected by the other party for a business lunch. From initially above average when they first opened to poor for my last two visits, I just don't like inconsistency in a pricey (I think) restaurant. This visit was for late lunch -the food and the service was above average. The crowd was very light and we were able to pick a nice outside table overlooking the river. We both had a Signature main course salad that had fresh ingredients and not overpowered with dressing. Waiter was pleasant and professionally attentive. The inconsistency still concerns me so I'm not ready to try another dinner there but would try it again for a late lunch when the weather allows for outside seating!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Cliff Inn also viewed

Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 
Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 

Been to Stone Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Cliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.