We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonecliff Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Cliff Inn

Stone Cliff Inn
17900 S Clackamas River Dr (Hwy 224), Oregon City, OR 97045
503 631 7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stone Cliff Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 104 Restaurants in Oregon City
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Carver Bridge
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stonecliff Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've dined at Stonecliff Inn a number of times, always been delighted with the fare, the service, and the atmosphere. We've taken many out-of-state friends there, who have all been more than satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    14
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful river view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Upscale food that is very tasty just a little expensive. Great place for date night. Service is always pleasant but lacking a little on busy nights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate at Stone Cliff in May of this year to celebrate or anniversary and the food was wonderful so when my in-laws wanted to celebrate my birthday there I was excited we were going back. We arrived early and had a glass of wine at bar the server was very informative about the various Oregon wines we were interested in. We were seated promptly when the rest of out party came and our server Jeremy was very attentive. The salmon chowder was flavorful and does not disappoint. Three of us had the beef stroganoff and loved every bite, we even had enough for lunch the next day the portions are so large. My husband had the Salmon Oscar and thought it was delicious. You have to realize this restaurant is popular and does get busy at times be patient, sit back and enjoy a leisurely wonderfully prepared meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently moved to the area and had been wanting to try this place. We had heard it was good, but we read a lot of recent negative reviews on here so we weren't sure what to expect.

We dropped in for a late lunch/early dinner at 2:30 on a Monday afternoon. There were only about 10 other parties seated outside on the large patio, so we were immediately seated. View of the river is nice in both directions, although construction noise from the bridge below was noticed but not too distracting.

Our orders were taken quickly by a friendly waiter and the food arrived quickly as well. We both started with a cup of the smoked salmon chowder, which was excellent. The wife had the rack of ribs, which was a huge portion. She loved the sauce but said the meat was dry.

I had the bacon wrapped meatloaf, which was served as a big slab on top of mashed potatoes and topped with mushroom gravy and a side of asparagus. This was definitely good comfort food and plenty of it. Quality-wise, it was solid but unspectacular.

There are definitely glimmers of promise at The Stone Cliff Inn, but next time we'll probably opt for one of the burgers which looked pretty good on another customer's table, or maybe just go for a full bowl of that excellent chowder.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troutdale
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were looking forward to celebrating our anniversary at Stone Cliff with some friends who were also celebrating their anniversary, sadly, it was a huge disappointment. First of all, we had 6:30 reservation, and requested deck seating, when we arrived, we checked in and were told we were 3rd on the list. We watched at least 6 other groups get seated, some were only 2 people, so that was understandable, but 3, were groups of 3 to 8, when we inquired, we were told we were now #2 on the list...after waiting an hour, we were finally seated, outside. We waited over 15 minutes for our server, waited another 30 minutes for our salads and rolls, only got 3, we had a bottle of wine, could only find 2 glasses, waited 10 minutes for 2 more, dinner arrived after a wait of another 30 minutes, I ordered rice, got potatoes. The other 3 ordered steak, I ordered chicken, theirs was very good, mine...not so much. Then we made the mistake of ordering dessert, took 15 minutes.
We realize things can happen, but when other people who come in after us, get served and leave before we even get our food, there is a problem. We arrived at 6:30, finally left after 9:30 sad to say, it wasn't worth the wait...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Cliff Inn also viewed

Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 
Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 

Been to Stone Cliff Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Cliff Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.