We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Kitchen

Country Kitchen
1249 Tapadera Ave, Ontario, OR 97914-3044
541-889-3941
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Ontario
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Family Fare
Description: Country Kitchen began with a dream . . . . . It started with the vision of an enterprising young boy by the name of Bill Johnson. At the age of 14, Bill Johnson left his Kentucky home and headed for the "big city" of Cincinnati, Ohio. He was armed with only an eighth-grade education and a pocket full of change. Bill's future began when he was hired to work at a hamburger stand...In 1939 he and a friend, Bill Goodman, pooled their resources, totaling $400, and made a down payment on some restaurant equipment. They rented an empty storefront and opened a restaurant. The sign out front read "Country Kitchen." Customers began coming in for great-tasting hamburgers for only a nickel (or six for a quarter) and for delicious steak sandwiches for a dime. Our Ontario Country Kitchen is attached to the Clarion Inn. We have been in business for many years in the Ontario Community and strive to provide great service to our friends and customers. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner- with fantastic menu options at each meal.
Restaurant details
Description: Country Kitchen began with a dream . . . . . It started with the vision of an enterprising young boy by the name of Bill Johnson. At the age of 14, Bill Johnson left his Kentucky home and headed for the "big city" of Cincinnati, Ohio. He was armed with only an eighth-grade education and a pocket full of change. Bill's future began when he was hired to work at a hamburger stand...In 1939 he and a friend, Bill Goodman, pooled their resources, totaling $400, and made a down payment on some restaurant equipment. They rented an empty storefront and opened a restaurant. The sign out front read "Country Kitchen." Customers began coming in for great-tasting hamburgers for only a nickel (or six for a quarter) and for delicious steak sandwiches for a dime. Our Ontario Country Kitchen is attached to the Clarion Inn. We have been in business for many years in the Ontario Community and strive to provide great service to our friends and customers. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner- with fantastic menu options at each meal.
Pahrump, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is located adjacent to the Clarion Inn within the same complex and after a long day of driving was the perfect place to grab a decent meal at a decent price without driving again. I would go back again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

They have very tastefully remodeled the redecorated the restaurant. It is very nice but we were disappointed at the menu changes. There isn't a whole lot of variety. Just a fairy basic menu. The food is good but not awesome. If you are looking for an all around American food restaurant this would rate about probably about 2nd or 3rd in Ontario..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“salad mania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

i disliked the decor in the country litchen too drak for my teast, but he food is always great the watress is fast and the food always is fresh and hot, sa;ades are crisp and the home made rach dresing is to die for

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast all day and lots of choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We liked this restaurant because of all the choices, breakfast served all day, and the reasonable prices. Also, they have lots of different sides you can order with their variety of dishes, including sweet potato fries, broccoli, a nice-sized salad with cucumber, carrots, different greens, and croutons, red potatoes, coleslaw, mashed potatoes, etc. The wait staff were very friendly and helpful. The turkey and stuffing "comfort food" choice I got was very tasty. This isn't gourmet, but more homestyle food, good sized portions and good prices. I wish there one of these close by!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Country Kitchen, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our home-style cooking and the wide variety of side dishes. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Getaway Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Located close to several similar restaurants, the Country Kitchen is a good spot to get away from the others and is located next to a hotel. For travelers, it's a great place to get a bite close. It offers a good value and the food is always good. Typical diner fare at reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Country Kitchen, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Country Kitchen Restaurant over the others in the area. We're glad you enjoyed your dining experience, the food and the good pricing. We hope you'll stop by again in the future.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.