We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackey's Steakhouse & Pub

Mackey's Steakhouse & Pub
111 SW 1st St, Ontario, OR 97914-2703
541-889-3678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 54 Restaurants in Ontario
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bruges
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

a very nice place, good food, very!!!.... friendly service and absolutely value for money, super steamed clams, 8 ounce kobe steak, fish & chips, cheesecake, 1 Guinness, a bottle of wine,
83.00 dollars for two persons is a bargain,
thank you Millie, for a great service

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good food, reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Six of us went here for dinner while on a business trip. The food was good, the service was good and the prices very reasonable. The menu offers something for everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“There are no Irish in Ontario”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Wednesday night is open mike night, so the outdoor crowd was pretty robust. We arrived late, and sat inside. The table was kinda grungy/sticky like it hadnt been deep cleaned in a long time. A few flies buzzing around. The service was amateurish and my dish, Shepards pie, was a thick layer of cheese covering a kinda flavorful saucy stew with very little beef, vegis etc. The side of green beans and julienned carrots had little flavor. And it was served with a teaspoon to eat. ???? Had a stew dish and had to ask for bread. My guest had a 12 oz ribeye "market price" (19.95) and although tasty was way too fatty, like about 1/3 of the steak.
All in all, a pretty marginal option for dinner. A steak at Killians would have been a better choice, if they were open past 9 pm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were traveling home from a 21 day vacation with his two sisters. I wanted to try Mackey's. We ended up only having drinks, but they were reasonably priced and the service was amazing. One of my sister-in-laws did not like how the restaurant smelled, I did not think it was that bad. My husband had his heart set on wings and they do not have them. At 69 my husband's sisters baby him, so he got his way. Needless to say one sister and I were very disappointed with the other restaurant. I was really looking forward to the steamed clams and my sister wanted the tilapia. Can't say enough nice things about our waitress, she was awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

excellent food excellent music excellent waitresses excellent company the people were great and it was an excellent night

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackey's Steakhouse & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Mackey's Steakhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackey's Steakhouse & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.