We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Overnight Pass Through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ontario

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Ontario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Ontario
275 NE 12th Street, I-84 at Exit 376B, Ontario, OR 97914   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Ontario
Dayton, nv
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for Overnight Pass Through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed here going and coming back on a trip from Carson City, NV to Ellensburg, Wa. Appears to be recently remodeled. Entire property clean and rooms clean and up to date. $40 per night and pet friendly (no extra charge for pet like some of the higher priced hotels in the area) can't be beat. Not fancy but excellent for the price. A little nervous based on other reviews but fears were unfounded. If you are just passing through Ontario and need a place to sleep for the night this represents an excellent value. Multiple restaurants and fast food within a couple of minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
8
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central Ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

I haven't stayed at a Motel 6 since a bad experience several years ago, but the reviews here made it look like this one might change my mind. I was traveling with my dad, and even though it looked acceptable to me, he didn't want to stay. We did check out the rooms, and mine was clean, but the overall look--noisy kids running around, unkempt grounds, and the big banner advertising weekly rates--ultimately led him to decide that we should find another place, which we did a couple of doors down.

I will give the desk clerk credit for giving me my money back without any argument. She was nice and understanding of my situation.

After passing several more Motel 6's over the following days, and seeing that they were in better shape than this one (and offering wi-fi, which this one didn't have, according to the clerk), it seems that the chain is improving, but still has a few locations that need some work.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ontario hotels

Lebanon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

I'd seen mixed reviews about this location, but more positive than negative and decided to try it.

Had made reservations early in an attempt to get a downstairs single with frig and microwave. On arrival, the building and grounds were attractive, the check-in was flawless and pleasant, and they had this exact room in a convenient location. The room itself was a very pleasant surprise: totally clean and attractive, with a large 2-door refrigerator-freezer (not the micro units that almost fit under your bed) and microwave, and still better, a really comfortable bed. ( Should mention that Motel 6s back in the 60s-90's, when I did most of my traveling for business before retirement, seldom had good beds - for me, anyway - but this was a definite departure from that).

Looked to me as if the motel (certainly my room, at least) had been totally redone within the last year or so. One item this room didn't have that some of the even newer ones do, however, was the individual thru-the-outside-wall combo heating-cooling units that are so nice to have. I had a doubt or two when I noticed the room still had the centrally-supplied ducted units, but the temperatures were perfectly maintained during the warm day and cool night.

Was everything perfect? Just about, with a not-really-too-major exception: I hate those water-miser shower heads that don't give a clean or neat spray! Can't wash your face without getting your hair wet when you don't want to. Same types they've used for the last 30-40 years (but which at least some newer units are finally dropping).

I toyed with a 4-rating for the motel, due to the heat/AC and shower, but because it's so good for the cost I think it truly deserves a full 5.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We drive frequently between Portland and Idaho and have learned over the years that this motel 6 is the most reasonable and consistantly clean along the road. Boise and Pendleton Motel 6's will run you $25-40 more per night. If money is no object there are lots of nicer hotels in town.

It is a basic box with a bed that serves the purpose. The pool is nice although can get crowded with kids in the summer. Noise has never been a problem but in the summer the rooms will completely fill before dark and it is best to call ahead.

On this trip we were on the second floor and found the shower althernately scalded and froze... I think as the showers below or next door came on and off. Never had that problem on the ground floor. Not a destination, but a reasonably priced pit stop.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Water temperature variation
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

Pretty normal Motel 6 in my estimation. The property is a bit off the main road, but if you're on the right track there are plenty of signs pointing you towards it. Room seemed in okay shape if not a bit worn. No alarm clocks is a bit annoying. Shower had seen its better days. Didn't notice noise from the nearby interstate as I was expecting. Nothing too special, nor not too bad either.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stopped staying in Motel 6 motels because they all seemed to have a musty odor but this one was exceptionally clean and smelled fresh! It was easy to find, had a friendly, helpful staff, and was a bargain. Also, the bed was a queen and very comfortable. If we're ever in Ontario again, this Motel 6 is where we wil stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2005

Stayed there last year and this year. It is your standard Motel 6 (type with walk in shower, but not the "new colour" design). If you know what to expect from a Motel 6 you will not be disappointed. Rooms were clean, staff friendly.

It is located close to the interstate right next to the Holiday Inn, BW and some other Motels, so you gain nothing location-wise staying in the other motels since they are all in the same spot. If you are noise-sensitive a room on the non-interstate-side is better. It has a midsize pool on site that looked clean.

Right behind the motels there are several fast food restaurants, a Walmart Supercenter (great for filling up supplies if you go on a longer trip through Idaho ...) and next to that a Chevron station where you can get a very cheap car wash, particularly with gas. And since this is still in Oregon there is no sales tax and full service gas ... Oregon and Idaho Welcome centers within minutes at the Interstate. Did and will return if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ontario

Address: 275 NE 12th Street, I-84 at Exit 376B, Ontario, OR 97914
Location: United States > Oregon > Ontario
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Ontario
Ontario Motel Six
Ontario Motel 6
Motel 6 Ontario Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.