We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1249 Tapadera Ave, Ontario, OR 97914 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ontario)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ontario
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olympic Penninsula
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice pleasant friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

By far the best Choice Hotel group I have ever stayed with. Extra helpful cheery front desk girl who went to unlock my sliding door so I did not have to walk down, unlock it, back to move my car, etc. Room could use a newer TV and patio table for watching sunset, and straight shower curtain rod, but otherwise excellent. Tap Lounge bar and dinner bar food was great. Very warm & friendly people, with good food. Breakfast in the adjacent Country Kitchen was another matter. I would have been good IF 1. I didnt find a 2" dark hair on top of eggs and under bacon, or
2. Watress came back in a timely manner, apologized and replaced meal.

Instead, I ate thepart of a piece of bacon that hadn't touched the hair and the toast. She then arrived, I pointed to the hair, she picked it up, examined it carefully and said, "Not mine!." Thought a bit, and said it wasn't the cook's either. I said it wasn't mine either and waited. she waited. finally she asked if I wanted her to get me another egg. I dont think so, if that is her attitude.

Room Tip: West side is sunset and father from restaurant, east side nearer entrance and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and staff. I'm sorry your restaurant experience wasn't equally as positive. I do appreciate your comments about your breakfast concerns and please know that I have passed them on to the restaurant manager, who will discuss them with the staff. I hope that you will stay with us again if you're in the area and give the restaurant staff a chance to provide you with the great customer service we're known for. Thank you again.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
34
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came in at 5 AM with 3 dogs and 2 cats and though their website says $10 per pet, limit 2 under 75lb, they told us to bring them all in for the $10! Plus they gave us a 2 bed at the same price as a one bed "so the dogs can have somewhere to sleep". They made moving from washington to north carolina in the middle of winter a whole lot less stressful. I will definitly come here anytime I come this way again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We're so glad that you and your pets enjoyed your stay with us. As one of the few truly "pet-friendly" hotels in the area we want to make sure that all our guests, pets included, have a great experience. Thank you for your great photo of your Siberian Husky enjoying your guest room.
Best of luck with your new home in North Carolina and please stop by and stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Tami H. - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

No great thrills here but the rooms are clean and pet friendly which is a huge plus for us. Plenty of areas to walk the dogs and they even gave us a few treats for them. The staff was friendly and helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments about our pet friendly hotel. We always do what we can to make our four-legged guests feel comfortable too. We hope you will stay with us again in the future if you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great place to stay while on the road. This small town charmer is definitely a DO NOT miss. Our family of four plus our cat checked in during a long road trip and found the atmosphere and staff to be very welcoming and accommodating. Upon check in they greeted us with enthusiasm and gave us all the good info; kids eat free dinner & free breakfast in the diner. Oh my goodness it was truly home cooking and we couldn't finish it all. My kids loved the chicken strips and couldn't get enough of the brain teaser games on the tables. It was perfect to keep kids occupied. It seemed our food was ready in no time. I'm always a stickler about towels and bathrooms but I couldn't find fault here towels are beautifully white and there were no stray hairs or caked dust on the door hinges. Everything was very clean. It did not smell musty or reek of another pet. In fact our cat didn't cower as she did in another hotel the previous night.

PROS:
Great staff front desk & diner
Welcoming
Clean
Great food (free breakfast & kids dinners)
Good location
Pets welcome only $10 charge
Plenty of parking
Quiet rooms

CONS:
Honestly the only one I can think of if you'd call it a con is...
If you have a pet that is afraid or aggressive toward other pets you will want to keep it on a very short leash because there are plenty that come in and out with their owners.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We're pleased your family enjoyed your recent stay with us (and glad your cat had a nice stay too)! Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and the restaurant. We're glad you enjoyed our new free, hot breakfast in the Country Kitchen Restaurant. We look forward to serving you again the next time you're in the Ontario area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I always like to stay at the Clarion when going thru Ontario, Oregon. The staff are always so friendly and the Manager goes above and beyond to accomodate our stay. Now, we were very happy to find out about the new offering of a Free, Hot breakfast at their adjoining restaurant, the Country Kitchen. We had a wide variety of choices off the free menu and our whole family had a great breakfast free, just for staying at our favorite hotel! Can't beat that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We love hearing from our loyal guests. Thank you for your positive comments and we're glad you enjoyed our new free, hot, cooked to order breakfast. We look forward to serving you the next time you're in the Ontario area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Clarion Inn , good value for Priceline price , but no breakfast so .. Nice enough room really nice friendly help - No problems , good value for Priceline price , if I'd have paid full retail I might be a little upset ! Not ,though good enough for the price...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Clarion Inn. We appreciate your comments and wanted to let you know that as of Dec. 1, the Clarion offers a free, hot, cooked-to-order breakfast to all hotel guests. We hope that the next time you're in the Ontario area you'll stay with us again and give our new free breakfast a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Clarion Inn was nice enough to sponsor our hotel room for a night for our campaign More Than Just Miles. We had a great stay and were really impressed with the rooms. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff at the hotel were helpful and very friendly. The restaurant next door had a great breakfast and there are a lot of other great places around to grab a bite to eat. If you are traveling through this area we definitely recommend staying the night at the Clarion Inn!!!

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor you get a sliding door out to a nice little patio and courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 1249 Tapadera Ave, Ontario, OR 97914 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ontario)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ontario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® is a full-service hotel that now offers a FREE, hot made-to-order breakfast so you have the best of both worlds. Guests will find that whether they are traveling for business or pleasure, this Oregon hotel provides great amenities and outstanding service close to a number of local points of interest.Area attractions near this Ontario, OR hotel include the Historic Union Pacific Train Depot, the Oregon Trail Regional Museum, the Four Rivers Cultural Center Museum and the Snake River Correctional Institution (SRCI). A number of shopping centers, golf courses, outdoor recreation areas and entertainment venues can be found in the surrounding area. This Ontario hotel features on-site dining at the Country Kitchen or the Tap Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Ontario
Holiday Inn Ontario
Ontario Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Ontario, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.