We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mid-point of a 130 mile bike ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakridge Lodge & Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakridge Lodge & Guest House
Save
You added Oakridge Lodge & Guest House to your Saves list
48175 East First Street, Oakridge, OR 97463   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Oakridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect mid-point of a 130 mile bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are looking for the ultimate road bike ride in Oregon, the 65 mile one-way Aufderheide trip from Blue River to Oakridge is the perfect ride, and an overnight at the Oakridge Hostel & Guest House is a sublime way to make the excursion comfortable and enjoyable. Park your vehicle at the north end of Aufderheide scenic road, work your way up 28 miles to 3,700' elevation and then enjoy the 35 mile descent into Oakridge. Once there, enjoy being pampered by Gary and Linda's hospitality. Their facility is modern, extraordinarily crispy clean with beds which will rejuvinate your aching muscles. You have your choice of hostel-style bunk beds in a shared room or you can elect to stay in a private room. The well-lit cheerful rooms all share a common living room, which has comfy couches, tables and WiFi connections. Shared bathrooms are clean a spacious, and are situated across the livingroom. There are LOTS of them, so there was no wait. A hearty home-style breakfast of many courses set us up for our return 65 mile bike trip back to our car. The hostel was the perfect place to spend the night and made this excursion special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good rooms, great hosts, cool cat, spectacular breakfast. A welcome, relaxing stop after four days of backpacking. Get off the highway and check out "uptown" Oakridge. Nearby pub is a worthy stop as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you have ever driven thru Oakridge, you might of thought, that what is seen is all there is...Well I have news for you...Above highway 58, rests a first-class hostel!...When lodging was booked on the main drag, during a resent trip, a sign I had seen while driving west, sparked an interest to investigate...It was a good thing we did, because we found a nice place to rest and sleep for the night...Work often has me driving down the road at different hours, so when asked what time breakfast was needed, there was no hesitation to respond to our needs!...The breakfast was included in the price of the night! There is a living room, outside seating on a patio with gardening and local access for night dining...Look for the pub, up the street on the same side as the hostel, six or so blocks, worth the walk too!... Michael S.

Room Tip: Call ahead, and be prompt on your arrival time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful B and B, not truly a hostel though they do have dorm. facilities which are not expensive. They DO have private rooms, which are extremely clean, modern and comfortable. Great breakfast, very healthy. They cater to bicyclists, with a very safe, clean storage area, well-equipped with all the tools you might have forgotten. I would highly recommend this place as THE place to stay in Oakridge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was the first time I had ever stayed at a hostel. My idea of a hostel was truly different than my experience. The hostel was immaculate and Gary and Lynda were great. The price was very very reasonable. Gary and Lynda got up early very early and fixed us a fantastic breakfast. I have traveled a lot with my job and this was quite a treat from staying at a hotel. But one thing come early because the hostel does not take calls or rent rooms after 8 pm. Check it out.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Womens dorm the bed was great and it was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed "twice" in the past two weeks. Clean, quiet, friendly and priced right! The free breakfast was delicious - coffee hot. Owners Gary and Lynda were the perfect hosts.

I was coming home from a week in the desert. After breakfast Gary got a bucket of water and some rags and helped me wash my Harley.

I highly recommend that you stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in the same room/bed both times and got a great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Clean, modern, quiet, good healthy food, very friendly folks. Great value with plenty of room. 2 bunk bed dorm rooms with personal reading lights, 2 private units with 3 beds each. Nice large patio with small hot tub. Do not miss the little pub up the street.

Room Tip: Arrive before 8:00 PM, they close early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakridge Lodge & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakridge Lodge & Guest House

Address: 48175 East First Street, Oakridge, OR 97463
Location: United States > Oregon > Oakridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oakridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional guest house offers an upscale atmosphere, a fresh and healthful breakfast, easy access to bicycling, fishing, hiking, skiing, and wildlife viewing in the Willamette National Forest. Our five guest rooms may accommodate couples, families, or individual travelers. There are 2 rooms with bunk beds, one room with a double bed and a set of bunk beds, and two rooms each with a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. We have 6 bathrooms, a large upstairs lounge, a warm cozy living room, a spacious dining room, and a wonderful patio for relaxing outdoors. We offer secure storage for sports equipment such as skis, bikes, kayaks, and fishing gear, plus an area with flat off street parking for motorcycles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakridge Lodge & Guest House Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakridge Lodge & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.