We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for an extra special evening.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop House

Hilltop House
93405 Wilsey Lane, North Bend, OR 97459-9519
541 756-4160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in North Bend
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Coos Bay, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place for an extra special evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The attention that is given from the time we walk in the door is unparalleled. The warm and comfortable atmosphere prepares you for the quality of the meal that is prepared for you.
We always enjoy dining here and love to bring our out of town guests for a special evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, but misleading menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very good food. The appetizers were excellent, the clam chowder had a huge amount of clams, nice atmosphere. The entree, unfortunately was not great. My crab-stuffed prawns were smothered with hollandaise sauce. Yuck. Nowhere did the special menu we had indicate that hollandaise was on the dish. Very disappointing. I scraped off what sauce I could but could not get rid of all of it. The huckleberry creme brulee was really good! Overall, a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view,great service ,and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We always celebrate special occasions at the Hilltop. This is absolutely the best dinner house in the Bay area. The Early Bird is great but the steaks are especially good. The Rib-eye is the best
steak anywhere and we have lived in Portland and Seattle. The price is the lowest steak for the quality this side of Chicago.
If you live here or are just visiting -visit here -you will really enjoy this place . You do not have to over-dress either.
We are going tonight to celebrate our 20th Anniversary!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just because a steak costs $35, doesn't mean its worth a darn.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

To put this simply. If you are looking for a nice juicy steak... dont come here. I love a good prime rib, and who doesn't. Well for $35 I was expecting a great steak. I was wrong. Out of 16oz only about 8 was actually edible meat the rest was gristle and an extreme amount of fat. I mean i like fat on my steak, but this was upsetting. The edges of the steak had so much dry rub on them it was practically inedible as well. Very disappointed. Also the side dishes were kind of a joke as well. There were 4 pieces of squash about the size of 50 cent pieces and maybe 10 strands of angel hair pasta with a few grates of cheese sprinkled on top. All in all of you mist eat here, get the burger. I have had it, the only other time i was here, and not only is it the cheapest menu item, its actually pretty good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The food is great as was service. There is a view of the bay if you get a window seat. The value is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop House also viewed

North Bend, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 
North Bend, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Hilltop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.