We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind of musty smell ,in the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1503 Virginia Ave, North Bend, OR 97459 (Formerly Comfort Inn Coos Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Bend
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“kind of musty smell ,in the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

seems like an ok hotel , but the rooms in the 100 block of rooms has a musty smell , the kind of smell that you find in someplace thats been flooded before ,,,,,,,,,,,, oh ya ,, theres no freezer compartment in the fridge ,,, so if you need to keep stuff frozen - this aint the place
other then that , it seems like a clean enough place -big room -small couch- fridge-micro-flat screen, and theres a breakfast to boot
$76.00

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Quality Inn and Suites. We’re glad that you enjoyed our large room with a flat screen tv and micro-fridge and especially enjoyed our free breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, you experienced a slight musty smell which is common on the Oregon Coast and is caused when the ocean air does not circulate. Please travel safely and come back to see us again on your next trip to the Central Oregon Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    32
    28
    19
See reviews for
43
44
13
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Driving down Highway 101 along the US Westcoast we made a last minute decision to stay here for one night. We got a good deal and could enjoy a large double room with two double beds, tv, coffeemaker, iron w/board and free wifi. Breakfast included. Shops and supermarket within walking distance. Several restaurants as well. Absolutely fine place to stay at an absolutely reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our Quality Inn and Suites. Many of our guests comment on our close location to the mall with its restaurants, theatre and shops. We hope the rest of your trip to the US was memorable and we hope you come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Location was convenient. The staff did not acknowledge my Choice Hotels membership.The accommodations were OK, though the price was a little more than we expected to pay for this "not-too-special" motel. Some of the hallways were scuffed. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding our Quality Inn and Suites. We apologize that there was a misunderstanding about your pet and that you did not have a good experience at the hotel. We have checked and the Choice Hotels website does prominently state the policy of the hotel, which is a 25 pound limit on the size of dogs. Also, we took the extra step to call the Choice reservation center and they do make it a point to state our policy when guests make reservations. Once again, we apologize for the misunderstanding and we will pass on your concerns to Choice Hotels. We hope that your travels will be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just imagine traveling once a month every month for years and selecting Choice Brands Hotels where you expect a standard of friendliness and reasonable policies on pets. We traveled all day to North Bend after using Choice Rewards points for a one night stay. When checking in, I experienced rude behavior and an unexpected dog weight restriction on a pet of 25 pounds. However I was advised by "Theresa" that I could lie and say that I have a service dog or pay a $350.00 fee for an oversize pet. The other option she said was to leave my dog in the car. The worst part of it was that when making the reservation, we were not told of their 25 pound pet policy and then they would not cancel our reservation! We lost our Choice points and we had to go hotel shopping again late at night with a screaming baby to boot. I'm very ticked and I recommend that you read all of these reviews before staying here. It's just terrible!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding our Quality Inn and Suites. We apologize that there was a misunderstanding about your pet and that you did not have a good experience at the hotel. We have checked and the Choice Hotels website does prominently state the policy of the hotel, which is a 25 pound limit on the size of dogs. Also, we took the extra step to call the Choice reservation center and they do make it a point to state our pet policy when guests make reservations. Once again, we apologize for the misunderstanding and we will pass on your concerns to Choice Hotels. We hope that your travels will be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a large older property that has been/is being updated. Location is a convenient base to explore the tri-city area of North Bend, Charleston, and Coos Bay. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice with pictures of the Coos Bay bridge and other sea port scenes. We received a warm welcome from the hostess at the front desk and she had a bag of snack type goodies for us since we were staying with our Choice Privilages points. We also were able to upgrade to a larger room with a pull out couch. We were able to park right out side our room since it was on the ground level with 2 outside enterences. The wi-fi gave us some trouble at first but eventually straigtened out and worked fine. The bathroom had the vanity outside and was plenty roomy and clean. The bed was very comfortable and clean. My main complaint and the reason I couldn't give a Very Good instead of Average rating, is there was a strong musty smell I assume was coming from the carpet. I really liked the hotel and hoped the smell would go away but it just didn't. I reported it to the front desk when we check out and they said they would look into it. The only other sub par factor was the breakfast. The food was just average and they started putting it away 15 min before it was supposed to end. We had our food but cleanup was happening while we ate. It was a Tuesday morning though so that's probably part of the reason. The breakfast room itself is very neat with a unique nautical theme that make you feel as if you are on a ship. We only ate there one of the two mornings we stayed though because of the food. There is a McD's close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about our Quality Inn and Suites. We’re pleased that you received a warm welcome from our staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize that every aspect of your stay did not meet your (or our) expectations and we will use your comments to better train our staff to make our hotel better. We hope the rest of your trip on the Oregon coast was a pleasure and that you will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunaoue
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I are traveling on a fall vacation taking advantage of the Choice Hotels fall promotion. Two visits, get one free. We intend on using free nights on the more expensive weekends.
Meanwhile, this visit is at the Quality Inn in Coos Bay, Oregon. It's on a large 5 acre lot, 96 rooms. We initially reserved a suite (upgrade), but also wanted it on the ground floor so loading from and to the car would be easier. No such luck, so we settled for room 108 on the end of the first wing. It was very roomy with access doors on either end.
Bed was King size, carpet seemed a bit stained, but not aweful. Bath room was a bit dated with vanity as a separate area. The tub/shower knob was loose - very typical of zinc inserts with set screws that loosen. A materials selection flaw that faucet manufacturers keep making for decades because zinc is about 5 cents cheaper, and a mistake that this hotel made in buying them to save a buck, but now have to tighten 96 of these stupid knobs every month.
Nice courtyard lawn for the dogs to run around. The complimentary breakfast area was a refreshing surprise because it had a nautical theme to the room architecture.
The past 4 visits to other inns were consistent in that the staff was amazingly accommodating. The visit was no different.
Minor shortcoming was there were a bunch of wet leaves in the parting stall (it's autumn) the should have been cleaned up.
In all it was a nice visit, I'd visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our Quality Inn and Suites. We always enjoy hearing from our satisfied guests and we’ll make sure to pass on your comments to our staff. Also, we'll look into the loose shower knob and address that problem promptly. As you mentioned, this is the time of year when the leaves fall on the Oregon coast and the turning colors of the leaves make this area even more beautiful. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and that you will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEAVERTON
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is in North bend, about 1/2 mile off of highway 101, in a shopping center. The staff was great when I checked in, recognizing my Choice Hotel membership, giving me a goody bag and giving me a room on the end where I could park my motorcycle right in front. The room was large and comfortable, the bed was good. The only slight problem was the wifi was a bit erratic. The breakfast was good, scrambled eggs, waffles, bagels, fruit, etc. Even the hotel coffee wasn't bad. It was quiet and they even included a clip to make sure the curtains closed completely. I liked the hotel and would stay there again when in Coos Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, d at Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our Quality Inn and Suites. Our guests really like the fact that they can park right outside their rooms and they really enjoy the large rooms and hot breakfast in the morning. We hope that the rest of your trip was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again on your next cycle trip down the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay

Address: 1503 Virginia Ave, North Bend, OR 97459 (Formerly Comfort Inn Coos Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > North Bend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Coos Bay is a motel/hotel on the beautiful Oregon coast that offers spacious, comfortable rooms near some of the most popular golf courses, state parks and visitor attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coos Bay Hotel North Bend
Comfort Inn North Bend
Coos Bay Comfort Inn
Quality Inn & Suites At Coos Bay Oregon/North Bend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.