We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with amazing ocean views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Resort to your Saves list
Hallmark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   744 SW Elizabeth Street, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with amazing ocean views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I was a little apprehensive when we first arrived at the Hallmark Inn. It looked okay from the outside but once we stepped inside we were very impressed! The staff was wonderful! They upgraded us to a suite on a higher level to my surprise. It had amazing ocean view and a wonderful balcony to relax on! The room was better than expected! We had a fireplace and kitchen even equipped with a dishwasher! The room was very nice and modern looking. The beds were very comfy! There were several viewing decks, a large swimming pool and hot tub, and a kids playground. There is also a very nice restuarant there that we ate at three times and had several wonderful meals. They also offer room service which we took advantage of. I would recommend this hotel to everyone! Perfect for romantic getaways and family fun vacations. The hotel was very quiet we never heard our neighbors. Also very convient to everything. Minutes to aquarium, lighthouses, shopping, and Newport Bayfront.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    222
    42
    23
    7
See reviews for
223
422
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Check in was easy, the help was friendly.

We stayed in a Balcony Queen, it was clean. I think it was a room that wasn't updated yet. Furniture was worn and abused, trim was missing. The timer to the heat lamp didn't work as a timer, just as a on/off switch.

The one thing I would insist on being changed... if there would have been someone staying in the room to the north of us, they could have come out on their balcony and looked right into our room. The wall isn't solid all the way out to the edge of the balcony . I've NEVER stayed at a hotel where you had to wonder if someone was going look into your room.

There was nothing that was horrible about our stay, but nothing to make us feel that we want to go back. Perhaps if it were updated.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

This is our favorite hotel to stay at. Clean, awesome views, and the restraunt next door has great food. It's just a flight of stairs down to the beach. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The price for what you get can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I had stayed in the Hallmark at Cannon Beach several times and always enjoyed it so I had no hesitation in selecting a hotel when we went to Newport. Unfortunately, it didn't work out so well.

First, the good stuff. As others have noted, the rooms are on the small side (we had a Queen with fireplace) but ours was decently appointed and, like all of the rooms, has a good-sized balcony that overlooks the beach and the ocean. It really was a wonderful place to curl up by the fire and watch the ocean and acess to the beach was very easy. The free wi-fi, mini-fridge and DVD player are also nice amenities.

The only real disappointment was the customer service. We checked in and went out to dinner. When we came back a couple hours later, our room keys wouldn't work. It took several minutes working with a very confused clerk who seemed to think we had checked out before they finally just made new keys for us.

We had booked a 2-night stay (and paid for both nights at check-in) but the next day we came back to the room around lunch time, just in time to get a call from the front desk demanding to know why we hadn't checked out yet. I patiently explained that we were booked for two nights but the clerk kept insisting that their records showed us only booked for one night. And the hotel was fully booked so we would just have to leave. Apparently, their reservation system had somehow double-booked the room. I was irritated at having to deal with this and stunned that the clerk's attitude throughout the whole thing was that this was our problem and there was nothing the hotel could--or would--do about it.

It took two argumentative phone calls and finally going to the front desk in person with all of my paperwork before I finally got a huffy response from the manager that "fine, we could stay the second night," as if this was a tremendous imposition on them. This event pretty much ruined the rest of our stay. I spent the whole afternoon wondering if we would get back that evening to find our belongings on the sidewalk anyway.

I loved the location and really liked the hotel, but we were treated so rudely over something that was the hotel's error and that we really should never have been bothered with in the first place that I will not stay at either Hallmark again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park NY
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Needed a place to stay heading up the Oregon coast and researched the web. Found the Hallmark and liked what I saw. If you book here, book early and look deeper into the web site for a Queen, partial ocean view. Received a second floor room at the end of the building.... ie no rooms adjoin on any wall. We have a balcony with chairs facing the ocean for about one half the normal price. The room has full cable TV, Wireless internet, Coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave. The room is clean and maintained. Check-in was easy, but we arrived on a Sunday afternoon off season.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

You can't beat the location: right on the beach, with an ocean view from the room. Our room was clean with a microwave and mini fridge. The room was also large enough to accommodate a travel crib for our baby. There is a good sized patio too. Outside there are paths down to the beach, with footwashing stations near the building. Our kids enjoyed playing in the indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,ca.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hotel is very family friendly, gave the kiddos sand buckets upon arrival. Close to the beach, easy access, great hospitality. great comfy beds, beautiful view with private balcony, did not want to leave this beautiful hotel. I would recommend this to families traveling with children

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth Street, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.