We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a best stop on Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hallmark Resort to your Saves list
Hallmark Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   744 SW Elizabeth Street, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington the state
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Still a best stop on Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Because we travel with our small dog, finding accommodations that accept pets can be hard. The Hallmark is a good choice in Newport. The rooms are large, have ocean views and balconies or sliders directly onto the beach front. Our room was a ground floor room and very convenient for the pet. The rooms have two TV’s (as if you need them with views like this) and refrigerator, micro, and sink with a limited supply of utensils plus gas fireplace. Rooms are clean, well maintained and livable. The Hallmark front desk is very accommodating and friendly. What small issues we had were promptly remedied. There are two areas of the Hallmark, ask for rooms to the left of the registration.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the left (south) of the registration desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
jimsue,

Thank you for the great review. I am happy to hear you and your dog enjoyed the room and amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    222
    42
    23
    7
See reviews for
223
422
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had two dogs traveling with us, so required a pet room.

We have traveled with our dogs for years, and know that pet rooms can be a little different than the other rooms, but we found the pillow cases and bedding covered in pet hair. We called the front desk, and our bedding was changed immediately. After that, only a few other housekeeping details: when the room was cleaned, our coffee maker was not cleaned, and we found popcorn that was not vacuumed up because our dog was eating it.

The hotel staff were really nice, especially Jacob I believe and Lauren. My main issue was minor with housekeeping. When problems were pointed out, they were fixed.

For those with dogs - there is a doggie walk area behind the hotel, that was nice to use.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
welchs74,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry for the housekeeping issues that you had to endure. Your room was certainly not cleaned to our typical standards. I have discussed your comments in detail with our Executive Housekeeper and he in turn printed it out to use at his daily staff meetings. I can assure you that our housekeeping department took your comments to heart and are making a major effort to be sure these errors are not repeated. It is great to hear about the service you received from Jacob and Lauren. I will be sure to share your review with them as well. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only had one night booked through Groupon at the Best Western at Agate Beach and their front desk recommended the Hallmark Resort. We had a room with patio overlooking the ocean on the ground floor and 30 feet to stairs down to the beach. We spent the early evening on a near deserted beach - perfect. We left the window open to sleep to the sound of the surf. Super friendly at the front desk - we have no reservations at recommending the Hallmark and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor with direct access to a patio and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Picker48,

Thank you for the great review and recommendation, they are both very much appreciated. We will be looking forward to seeing you again on your next stay in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just spent a night at the Hallmark in Newport. Unfortunately the weather was awful. Drove in through dense fog and drizzle. Literally we could not see the ocean from our balcony on the 4th floor.

The setting for the hotel is great overlooking a broad beach about 100 feet up. Perfect Oregon coast setting, which is not a California beach. More rugged but the beach is long and wide. Great view from the rooms and the restaurant. The town is not the greatest, however. Feels kind of old and passed over. Nice if you just want peaceful days on the coast, but not much to do.

The hotel and the rooms both need some updating. They keep it very clean but the appointments need some work. The room was nice, we had the fireplace room, but it's kind of small for $179 off season. Bathroom is tiny and very old style.

Only had breakfast in the restaurant. Came across a neat bar/pizza joint/restaurant called the Savory that was a terrific hang-out, and the food was not just the usual bar and delicious. The restaurant at the hotel was terrific though. My wife is a vegan and they made several accommodations, including having almond milk for cereal. My more traditional eggs and bacon was way above standard, both in quality and quantity.

The best thing about Hallmark was the people. Everyone, from desk staff, to restaurant, to the casual meeting with maintenance staff, they all were smiling, helpful, and very friendly. That made it worth it. We will go back, just maybe bargain for abetter rate.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean so any floor is good. Second floor has the suites. Top floor with firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dr. Willie,

Thank you for the extensive review. I am sorry to hear that our renovations didn’t suit your style preferences and that the weather didn’t cooperate. It is great to hear that Georgie’s restaurant was a highlight. I am also happy to hear that the staff performed well and you found them to be helpful and friendly. We will be looking forward to your next visit. If you let the reservationist know the room you had on this visit and that you didn’t prefer it he or she will make sure we get you into a room type that better meets your needs.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Home, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I (and dogs) visit the Oregon coast frequently. We live in the Willamette Valley, so the close promimity and change of view beckons us. I cannot say one negative thing about the Hallmark in Newport. We've stayed at alot of motels/hotels on the coast, and this one is top notch. We've even stayed at the competitor to the north of the Hallmark and they've got nothing on this place. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Dog friendly. I would not even notice that the dog friendly rooms had pets in them at all. There is no reason to even leave the premises, unless you need to do some gift shopping. Everything is there. Their restaurant Georgies has great food for a great price. All the taffy you could want to eat, all the free ice you need, a place to workout, a great pool and jacuzzi. I could go on and on. Next time I visit, we'll not plan to go anywhere for dinner, or bring food in order to save money, because Georgies is really good. If you want seafood, they have it. You name it! I was so impressed with this visit, I'll be planning my next very soon. Thankyou to the staff there, including the folks that do housekeeping and all the other misc. tasks...you guys are great and we hope they pay you well! Looking forward to checking out the Hallmark at Cannon Beach some day.

Room Tip: If you have dogs, the bottom level is best (in my opinion). You can just go out your back patio do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Norene D,

Thank you for your extensive review and frequent visits. It is wonderful to hear that you speak so highly of the Hallmark. I will be sure to share your review with all staff as they will be thrilled to see their efforts recognized. Thank you again for the review and we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My bride and I have been going to the Hallmark, Newport every year for the past nine years for our wedding anniversary. Our experience has always been first-rate in every respect.

All the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are always spotless down to the smallest detail and the level of amenities are second-to-none! The room styling is fresh and contemporary and the room lay-out is very well done. Their room rates are very reasonable for the level of world-class comfort you're receiving in return.

The best part of our experience each year are the ocean views; the water is so close and so stunningly beautiful, you can almost reach out and touch it from your balcony. We would highly recommend the Hallmark, Newport to anyone looking to stay on the Oregon Coast!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and request the Limited Edition King Spa which has a jacuzzi in the room and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Sean A,

Thank you for your review and your annual anniversary trips to the Hallmark. I am very happy to hear that those visits have been “first-rate”. It is an honor to have earned your repeat visits for the past 9 years as well as your recommendation. Thank you again for the review and we will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Great view of the Oregon Coast and beach. Helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants.
Room was well maintained and priced right for the area.
We'll be back.


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Patrick R,

Thank you for the great review. I am happy to hear that our staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth Street, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.