We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from good. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embarcadero Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Far from good. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for four nights. When i got here I was told I got moved from bay view to bay front which meant you get to stare at the docks and office from your room and we are charging you more for that room even though we forced you to move. I didn't know that it was a managed rental property. Meaning people owned the condos and had the property rent them. One of those we will let the owners know it needs to be fixed places. Our unit was bare with an old mattress, a toilet that barely flushed and a tub that took half the day to drain, no curtain in the bathroom they figured a tree you could see through was enough. Room was always hot even with all the windows and patio door open. The box fan in the room was missing the control knob and covered in dust. We couldn't see the tv from the bed and had to move the couch just to watch tv. Cable box sat on the floor, cables all over and the built in DVD play was a joke to get to work.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    77
    55
    36
    34
See reviews for
98
132
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tigard
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

When I stayed here the carpet was dark from stairs to the room. Bed was not that comfortable, I guess wont be staying here again and no blinds while taking a bath. Please clean this up and make sure it is clean for the next guests!



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Why is it so hard to stay at Embarcadero? Why do we have our keys deactivated and have to go to the front desk to have them reset? Why do we have to ask for towels and room service? Why is it after we ask for such all we have is a stack of towels dropped off? Why is it we have a room that doesn't lock for privacy form the adjoining suite?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was on the lowest level, which was great being right on the water. However, it was about 3:00 a.m. when the people in the unit above arrived and that was the end of my sleep that night! Had a blast dancing in the lounge to fabulous entertainer!


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First off I have to say it is my understanding that this room is owned by another party but is within the Embarcaderos Hotel. Which is a fine location and everyone we spoke to was considerate and helpful!

It was a beautiful room with a beautiful view and a fantastic Jacuzzi tub that fits 2. Very nice touches are throughout the suite but there was no information in the room about the hotel, no wi-fi password info, no hotel or dining information for the Embarcadero or it's restaurant or the services provided and the room smelled a bit musty...like dirty clothes smell...but opening up the windows and deck door helped with that.

Our main complaints are as follows.

1.Used soap bar and wrapper in the shower when we arrived, shower was not clean.
2. We also had to clean the Jacuzzi tub before we could use it and not all the jets were working.
3. The fake candles (which would have been awesome for Mood) all had dead batteries in them and no replacements in the room. Luckily we had sense enough to bring 2 small real candles.
4. The electric fireplace (another great mood setter for a honeymoon suite) was not working..I found the manual online and it appears the bulbs are burnt out and need changed.
5. The walk to get ice for human use was ridiculously far away and up a nice size hill in a completely different building.

We will most likely try another room at the hotel in the future but this one wasn't worth the $$$ I spent. I shouldn't have to clean a shower or tub or have to smell funky body odor in a hotel room that cost over $200.00 a night.


Angela Wilder

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Angela W,

Thank you for the review. I have spoken with our Executive Housekeeper regarding your experience. The level of cleanliness is well below our typical standards. Thank you for bringing the fireplace, tub & candle concerns to our attention. We are working to correct these items. Please contact me at 541-265-8138 or at Jeffrey@embarcadero-resort.com, I would like to discuss your stay and apologize for the inconsistencies personally. Again, thank you for the review. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The unit was fine though a bit dated. It was a long ways from anywhere,, but the view was nice and it was quiet. The kitchen was well equipped and clean.
We had a little trouble with the TV, but a phone call brought help in a timely fashion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Byron B,

Thank you for reviewing our resort. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to correct the situation with your TV in a timely fashion. We very much appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location of the Embarcadero is great. The view is lovely and you can walk to a number of good restaurants. The units at Embarcadero are individually owned and the owners control the state of the room. Unfortunately the owner of the room we stayed in hasn't changed a thing since 1980. The walls and woodwork were all scuffed and marked, there was a hole in the couch and the bathroom, while clean, was very tired. I think there may be some very nice rooms, but next time I would ask to see the room before committing. Overall this is a property that should be prime, but it just looks tired, inside and out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sbwilso,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I would like to discuss your stay in further detail so I can get the unit you stayed in updated. Please call me at 541-265-8138 or by email at Jeffrey@embarcadero-resort.com. I look forward to speaking with you. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront this hotel offers large rooms with full kitchens,a marina, on-site restaurant and boat rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embarcadero Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.