We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Restaurant & Bakery

Chalet Restaurant & Bakery
2026 N. Coast Hwy., Newport, OR 97365-1702
541-265-6900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Eureka, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great service. Had grilled cod, sauteed veggies. Cod was firm and moist. Veggies good variety and tasty. Had nice fresh dinner salad first. Wanted to have their great pie but no room left. Next time will just have pie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    78
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real surprise---”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

with a salad luncheon. Great mixed greens, pleasant service, outstanding freshness. Just north of town on the 101 near the Fred Meyer grocery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have been here several times for breakfast and for dessert.

PROS: Service has been consistently good, as have the breakfasts. No gourmet meals here, just good old fashioned hot, tasty food.The desserts are large and rich.

CONS: Wish the coffee was up to par with the rest of the food. Sadly, a better cup is had at MikkeyD's or even Starby's. Would love to taste an upgrade.

SUMMARY: Fast, friendly and good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food, good price, fast service. Everything you are looking for when on the road and need breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Got food to go back to the hotel. Ordered a burger and then a chicken salad. Both were very good. We also got two slices of pie to go, cherry (SO GOOD), and marionberry(my husband didn't care for it but I really liked it). This place seemed great while waiting for our food, next time we will be stopping to dine in. The price was pretty good, all that and dessert ended up being $28, and let me tell you our lunch (somewhere else) was $28 so I figured dinner was going to be crazy..but nope I thought this was a great deal and we enjoyed our food a lot. Will be back especially for that pie :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Restaurant & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.