We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Restaurant & Bakery

Chalet Restaurant & Bakery
2026 N. Coast Hwy., Newport, OR 97365-1702
541-265-6900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cute little restaurant located on the north side of Newport. Excellent breakfast menu. Good portions and a good selection of other items during the day. Good Clam Chowder. They sell homemade pies that are delicious. Many times. there is a slight wait for a seat, since it is so popular. Service is good and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    78
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“We had a good hearty breakfast here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The lady on the front desk at our hotel recommended this place for breakfast, and we did have a nice hearty breakfast! It has a very comfortable homey feel, and it looks like they serve great pie too, but we just didn't have room left to try any. Service was good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Three Good Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Being near our motel, we ended up here 3 times. All for breakfast. I didn't order anything too fancy each time, but everything was good. Eggs, bacon, hash browns, and toast came out good each time. The place is very tastefully decorated and our service was good all three times. There is quite a variety of items to order from for lunch and dinner as well. We never did go in for a pie at night, but it looks like there is quite a variety of those too. The Chalet does have a little gift shop up front with post cards, etc. The Chalet is what you would expect in a family style bakery restaurant, but I would say it's a step ahead of the national chains with similar menus. Definitely worth a stop while travelling through Newport.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Awesome bakery, good food, great service, homemade jellies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had two meals here, dinner and breakfast. All of their baked goods (biscuits, pies, etc.) are made just next door from scratch and it shows. The pie crusts are truly excellent as is the homemade jelly - and the biscuits are moist, delicate, fluffy and delicious. Dinner was very good and breakfast was excellent. There are much better places to get clam chowder though. :) They made our kid's pancakes into mouse head shapes and all our servers were super sweet. Prices were very reasonable. This seems to be a favorite restaurant of the locals and I can see why. There are several pretty stained glass windows and a mini-waterfall outside that makes for a nice view as well. Try a homemade butter caramel! mmm mm We bought a jar of their homemade jelly to take home. Their homemade lollipops are very flavorful, but super sweet.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok service, ok meal. Local seniors hang out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped in here for a late lunch/early dinner. Annoying that salad/soup starter arrived at the same time as our meal. ( I hate that!) Our food was average at best and drenched in gravy. We thought we were being smart ordering diner specialties - not much can go wrong. I was here years ago and remember it being better. We had to ask for bread/biscuits that were supposed to be included with our meal, drink refills. All this being said, I could see this being a great breakfast spot - their pies and pastries looked amazing.

More a family/seniors hang out. When we were there the restaurant was crowded. We are in our 40s and everyone else had 25 years plus on us! :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Restaurant & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.