We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
4920 N.W. Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Newport B&B and Inns
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“VERY nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We (two couples) just spent a night at Ocean House. The current owners have only owned the B & B for about one year. They are upgrading rooms on an ongoing basis, but the rooms are already in quite nice condition. The bed is comfortable with high grade linen. The view is spectacular and there is a just completed deck from which to enjoy it. A trail to the beach is convenient and easy to follow. Breakfast may well be the highlight of the stay. An excellent experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
94
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portland,OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay in the Far East room. This B&B sits on a bluff with great views of the beautiful ocean. The rooms are all sparkling clean, comfortable and unique. Dawn serves fresh baked cookies each afternoon and an excellent breakfast in the AM with coffee available through the day. We enjoyed the big comfortable living room, reading by the fire. The fire pit was inaugurated on 1/1. There is a short path to the beach and the walk to the Yaquina Lighthouse and tidepools takes about 30 minutes. The proprietors are very nice. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just stayed two nights at this B&B and had a very nice time. When I booked, I asked which room would be recommended with a king bed and we chose The Cottage room which is very private, comfortable and has a great ocean view. Before the stay, I emailed Dawn & Craig to ask for restaurant suggestions for dinner which they replied right away with several great recommendations.

Upon arrival day I called in the morning to ask if it would be possible to get an early check-in and it was not a problem since our room was ready due to not having been occupied the prior night. We checked in with Craig and asked if we could see the other rooms for future reference and Craig gave us the grand tour including showing us where Dawn's daily baked cookies were kept (wish we would have had some now) and the coffee, tea, wine and popcorn as well. Then we unloaded and went to our room to find a lovely view in the sitting room with rock fireplace. The room was outfitted with everything we needed and was perfect. The breakfasts that were served were hearty and tasty and neither of us needed anything until dinner. Dawn and Craig have only owned Ocean House B&B for the last year or so and you can by tell talking with them that they are excited about their plans to make it even better with some updating to the decor of the house. The grounds are lovely and very well kept and Craig has just finished an incredible deck with fire pit that is down a short path where it overlooks the beach and ocean, the perfect spot to sit with a glass of wine and your loved one :)

Dawn and Craig were delightful and made us feel very welcome. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our stay at the Ocean House B & B was lovely. The house is on a high bluff and the rooms have a view of the ocean through the trees. We were in the Far East room for 3 nights and appreciated the lovely serenity of an Asian themed room. The gas fireplace is nice when the weather is wet and stormy. The chairs were very comfortable. It takes a bit of getting used to living without a phone (I guess most people have cell phones these days but I don't) and without the small refrigerator most hotels have these days (we used our small cooler with ice for our sodas and that worked fine). The price is high for us but we felt it was worth it. The innkeepers, Craig & Dawn, were friendly and interesting. One small kind of strange thing - there was a full length mirror positioned directly opposite the toilet. We hung a scarf over it and that worked well. Newport is an interesting and lively place. When we visit next time, we will definitely stay at the Ocean House B & B.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is a problem, be sure to ask for a room on the main floor. Also arrange to be dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at Ocean House the 2nd week of October. We stayed in Far East and the bed and linens were both comfortable. The room has a decent view of the beach. The house itself is comfortable with a few different areas to sit and relax. Dawn and Craig were both very friendly and gave excellent dinner recommendations for both nights we were there - places we never would have tried on our own. The house and surrounding area seemed quiet and there is a path (steps) that leads directly down to the beach. Overall we loved our visit and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent one night at Ocean House Bed & Breakfast and loved it, even though we had travel problems (airline, not the Ocean House). Our flight was delayed by several hours forcing us to arrive very late (2:30 AM). We contacted Ocean House and the owners were very helpful, taping an envelope to the outside door with a key and information about our room. We were able to get into our room quickly and rested very well. The breakfast the next morning was outstanding! Outstanding is also the word we would use for the facility and its spectacular location at the beach and near the lighthouse. They are also working to improve the grounds even more. We hope to stay there again and highly recommend Ocean House B & B.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and fitness center not rated. This is a B & B and swimming was not likely in Nove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great quiet location. Attractive views through trees from rooms from a bluff above the beach/ocean. Short trail leads down to expansive sand beach. Dawn and Craig provided advice about the area and a tasty eggs benedict/fruit cobbler breakfast. The rooms and property need a bit of care; e.g. some water damage on window sashes, mildew on exterior siding. A couple of rooms are available at a discount mid-week. Very nice living room with views of the ocean. Snacks and drinks available 24/7.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Roadtripper is right, we have work to do. After acquiring this property about a year ago, we have been improving everything. Unfortunately we had not gotten to those items mentioned, so we thank Roadtripper for pointing them out. However, it does not stop there. We have plans for many other improvements in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4920 N.W. Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list