We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best be hungry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee House

The Coffee House
156 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4534
541-265-6263
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 92 restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best be hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just went to the Coffee House in Newport, Oregon. The previous reviews that I read were right on. Very good food and lots of it!!!! One needs to be hungry to go to this location and eat. We had omlettes and they were huge. The fresh home-made bread was delicious and very soft. If there was a downside, it was that you have to go up front to order your meal which is a little strange in todays world. They do bring you your order, so you do get waited on. Nice view of the bay with boats and you can sit outside, so that's another plus when the weathers good and it was beautiful when we were there. Great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    63
    24
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So much more than coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My first visit but not my last. I had the vegetable omelet with home style red potatoes and homemade biscuit. The omelet was fluffy and it was filled with fresh, lightly sautéed veggies, see the picture. Not worry, carnivores, they have Italian sausage, ham, etc. also. I couldn't resist a cinnamon apple turnover to go. Easy parking as the location is on the east end of the bay front.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great coffee and pastries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately they are SLOW and way over priced. Food was good but its very small and crowded. Excellent coffee and the place is clean. If you want good pastries and good coffee, its perfect. If your in a hurry, don't come here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in on a Sunday morning. It was busy, but everyone was still friendly and smiling. Excellent breakfast, everything was delicious. Fresh squeezed oj was 2nd to none. Recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the best pastie ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our lunch was great - we sat on the deck and enjoyed the view! Everyone's food was so tasty and I had the best pastie I have ever eaten. We loved it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.