We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Pier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Pier Lodge
Save
You added Anchor Pier Lodge to your Saves list
345 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Newport B&B and Inns
Independence or
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We headed for Newport for my Husbands Birthday. No particular plans, just wanted to get away. We have walked by Anchor Pier 100 times and even checked out a few rooms when they first had open house. Well, we decided to see if they had a room. It was Sunday so we werent too worried about finding a place to stay. We ended up staying in the Garden Room. It was beautiful. The room was clean and fresh. The view was amazing. The big picture window overlooking the bay was filled with the fishing boats and big NOAA boats with Christmas lights on them.We walked a few blocks to Mo's for a delicious crab dinner.
It was a beautiful, relaxing night. In the morning, we walked across the street to the Coffee House Cafe for a wonderful breakfast. It was just a relaxing get away. I would recommend staying in any of the fun, uniquely decorated rooms. The service desk was friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a theme to them. Each one we have seen has it's own character. They are clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontFran, Owner at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thanks very much for the kind words - we love to welcome guests to Anchor Pier Lodge! Winter is a magic time on the coast with big storms & hot coffee brewing, side by side - glad you got to enjoy some our favorite neighbors food and hospitality! And, of course - the main act on Newport's stage: our hardworking & colorful fishing fleet that are dominated by crabbers during the winter season. Happy travels & hope to see you, soon! Warm regards from all of us, Fran M, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Anchor Pier Lodge to celebrate our anniversary. The accomodations were just perfect and very relaxing. Our bay-side room was beautiful and very comfortable in every way. We enjoyed the sea lions throughout our stay. For those who may not find their barking quite so charming at night, the hotel provides ear plugs and a sound machine in the room. We kept the sound machine on low, didn't need the earplugs and were not disturbed by the seaside ambience. We would highly recommend this lovely place for anyone desiring a place where you can put your feet up, enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine out on the balcony and be within walking distance of all the shops in the historic district of Newport. Many thanks for the wonderful hospitality!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I discovered this hotel on a recent trip to Newport and decided to stay here for our 13th anniversary. We both love the coast and everything about it. The thing about this property is that it's not located on the ocean, instead it's located on the bay front in Newport which is still a very active fishing town. For entertainment value, we both love watching the fishing vessels coming and going from port each and every day. Our room had a balcony right up against the bay which made this so easy and enjoyable. Both days we were there we watched a couple of sport fishing vessels returning from deep sea fishing and enjoyed watched them offload their catch. In addition, being on the bay front means you are conveniently located a short walk from several of the best restaurants that Newport has to offer.
The room itself was very nice and had all the comforts one could expect. The bed was about the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel/lodge. There is a gas fireplace in the room that can be used if the nighttime temperature should necessitate it. The spa tub we had in our room also overlooked the bay and offered a very romantic setting.
Some people have complained about sea lions on previous posts. Unfortunately the sea life noises aren't under the control of the hotel. The night we stayed, although there were a few sea lions nearby, the sound to us was nothing more than hearing crashing waves at other beachside accomodations and were easily drowned out or ignored. About the only negative I could say is that the view of the Yaquina Bay bridge is blocked by a building just to the west of our balcony which is unfortunate.
We will definitely visit again and would highly recommend to others.

PS-For an additional fee they also offer a Marine Discovery tour of the bay and ocean that includes whale watching and educational activities. We saw at least 3 whales on our trip and various other wildlife. Very fun, especially if you're looking for something new to do at the coast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010 via mobile

Room was lovely. Nice decor, well laid out room and comfy bed. The issue was the sea lions. Whilst the lodge had made a lot of effort to minimise the noise of the sea lions ( ear plugs, double glazing & White noise machine), the sea lions were still winning the battle. Did manage to sleep, but would rather not have to sleep with ear plugs in.

So whilst there were many positives about the lodge I would be hard pressed to recommend it due to the noise.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Our stay at Anchor Pier Lodge was great! The staff couldn't be more helpful. The rooms were really new and clean and very comfortable. Great decor, each room has its own character. Highly recommended, would not hesitate to stay there again. Marine Discovery boat tour was really interesting. Very informative about the sealife of the Oregon coast. You could hear the sea lions barking all day and night but you kind of tune them out after awhile.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

My husband and I arrived in Newport on Christmas Day. Even though the Anchor Pier Lodge desk and gift shop were closed, they met us and let us in for our stay. We were shown around to the rooms and invited to pick one--they were all nice--I chose the Bayfront History because I liked the decor.

The room was recently remodeled and was large with an extra bench for sitting and a small table with two chairs. The bathroom was comfortable and clean. The bed was also very comfortable to sleep in.

One thing I also appreciated was that they had a washer and dryer available to the guests. After travelling for almost a week, it was nice to be able to do a quick load of laundry. They even provided the laundry soap.

Our stay was almost perfect. The only drawbacks (which really are not major) were car noise and the temperature of the room. The Bayfront History room faces Bay Rd. and there was quite a lot of car noise when that road was busy. They did provide earplugs if the guests needed them. About the temperature, the room had a fireplace but we never needed to turn it on. Since heat rises, the heating downstairs kept the room almost uncomfortably warm. The thermostat was set for 50 degrees but the room was more like 76 degrees.

If I get the good fortune to visit Newport again, I will make sure and stay at the Anchor Pier Lodge, but I'll make a reservation for one of the ocean-side rooms; I'd rather listen to sea lions than cars. =)

  • Liked — The helpful and accommodating staff
  • Disliked — The hot room made it difficult to sleep at night
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

While looking for a Marine Discovery Tour in Newport, I came across this little gem and one of the highlights of our Northwest holiday. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters. The decor was beautiful. The room itself was not only spacious and new, but comfortable and welcoming. The owners had thought of every little need before we even arrived. We also spoke with a couple others staying at Anchor Pier, and they were as exciting as we were about the find. The view was incredible and overall we really felt a great connection to the harbor by being a seamless part of it. It should be noted that dozens of California Sea Lions live in the harbor. We found them to be hilarious! For those not in love with sea lion barking, the hotel provides white sound machines and even ear plugs (another example of how they really think of your every need). We actually missed the sea lions when we left, but know some people may not be as in love with them as we were.

We also took one of the Marine Discovery Tours into the ocean and bay. It was fun, too! Since breakfast isn't included, we would recommend a quick drive to Nye Beach and Cafe Stephanie.

  • Liked — The look and feel.
  • Disliked — Parking was tough during mid-day
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Pier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Pier Lodge

Address: 345 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Anchor Pier Hotel Newport
Anchor Pier Lodge Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Pier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.