We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Stephanie

Cafe Stephanie
411 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3514
541-265-8082
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This little cafe was recommended by our hotel management as it was within walking distance one morning. We enjoyed good coffee (a must on a rainy Oregon day), eggs and muffins. Yum. The young waiter was skilled.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    89
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stop here! Great Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Poking our heads in the door, we were greeted with a friendly "Hello!" We considered just going to the espresso bar for coffee, but with the cozy atmosphere & warm welcome, we sat at a little table. Husband fell in love with the fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. The roasted veggie crustless quiche kept me coming back. The buttery, rich scones were as good as I've had. Servers were so friendly, we thought they must be an ownership team. We were wrong - we met Stephanie later, also delightful. It has intimate seating, you're going to know what your neighboring table is eating/talking about. Fresh paint was cute in dining area. Any downfalls? The bathroom reminds one of a freshly painted truck stop, clean & neat, but needs a bit more work. You cannot see the ocean. You may wait a bit for a table – it’s still a small café, but worth the wait. This is a café, with a small menu done well, not a linens restaurant with infinite choices.
We count ourselves quite lucky- We started at another hotel cafe that couldn't be bothered to greet us witihin 5 min of our arrival, so we wandered a few blocks down to Cafe Stephanie. We came back for breakfast every day of our visit to Newport.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sinful scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great breakfast with eggs tasting like they were fried in butter. I usually find scones to be better used as blunt objects but these were light, tasty and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice little place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just a cute little place with good food. Their scones were scrumptious. What else is there to say? Give it a try when you are in Newport.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The reviews were so good that we had to check it out while we were at Nye Beach. We were not disappointed. The service was great and so was the food. The smoked salmon chowder was tasty and the eggs and hashbrowns were great. I really loved the blueberry scone as well. Next time I'll order a few to go

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Stephanie also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cafe Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Stephanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.