We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Yeah!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Local Ocean Seafoods

Local Ocean Seafoods
213 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365
541-574-7959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oh Yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love fresh seafood and this place did not disappoint. Even my granddaughters enjoyed their meal. My son-in-law ordered a hamburger..... don't do that. He was disappointed but I am not going to lower the rating because he ordered the wrong thing at a seafood restaurant. In fact, he finished off the fish leftover from the granddaughter's meal and admitted it was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    231
    56
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Every time we walked by this place it was mobbed which is always a good sign. Luckily when we arrived for dinner the line up was minimal and we were seated inside of 15 minutes.

The place looks fairly innocuous with what appears to be half the store set up as a fishmongers selling fresh fish and the remainder what looks to be a canteen style cafe.
Once seated the atmosphere was nice and the servers attentive. What really made the place was the food, clearly fresh ingredients simply prepared. The crab cakes were awesome, my wife had a extremely nice bacon wrapped halibut and I the fishwife stew which was a variation on a cioppino. The stew was generously packed with seafood and well prepared.
Fantastic meal and if back in Newport this would be my first place of call.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I had dinner last night at this restaurant based on the recommendation of the person at our inn. When we got to the restaurant, which is down on the marina/harbor, it looked a little industrial from the outside. There are large glass roll up garage doors across the front, which allows you to sit in the open air during warm weather. Since it wasn't exactly warm this night the doors were down, but you still have a great view of the harbor.
I ordered pan-fried oysters and they were some of the best I've ever had. The oysters had a light panko-crust and we're fried perfectly. The fries were excellent, as was the slaw. My friend had fish and chips, which is the local catch of the day. She also thought her fish was fried exactly right. The restaurant uses as much local seafood as possible and also sells fish at the counter where you come in. If you are ever in Newport it's well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Arrived at 7pm, two hour wait. Gave them our phone number and were told we would receive a text when our table was ready. Just before 9 we got our text, so we finished our beer at Rouge and headed to Local Ocean. We were seated at the bar that overlooks the kitchen... watching the chef work his magic was really fun and we had the pleasure of visiting with the Executive Chef, Charlie Branford, who gave us excellent recommendations. The seafood is so fresh and expertly prepared! I had the Black Cod, which was one of the best pieces of fish I have ever tasted. We also tasted the smoked black cod, which was out of this world! If in Newport, this place is a must!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scrumptious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Roasted Garlic and Dungeness Crab Soup was to die for the first time. Next time less impressive, but still good. Really enjoyed the Smoked Salmon Salad! Fish tacos weren't my favorite. Will definitely come again if ever out that way from KS once more. Staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Ocean Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Local Ocean Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Local Ocean Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.