We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was ok, convenient from hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starfish Grill & Restaurant

Starfish Grill & Restaurant
3019 N Coast Hwy # 119, Newport, OR 97365
541 265-9411
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sutherlin, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast was ok, convenient from hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Agate Beach Inn where the restaurant was located. The dinner menu didn't look appetizing for the price. We decided to go for breakfast since we were tired and hey, we're right here. It was a nice, clean atmosphere with table by the window to look at the ocean. Service was ok. The waitress didn't stop by the table unless we flagged her down, except to order get drink, and bring food. The food was good, but call me a weird duck, but I hate my food crowded on my plate. This was the apitome of that. Eggs slapped ON TOP on my pancakes and bacon almost falling off my plate! The egg yolk was everywhere and soaked the pancakes, which I hated. Once I quickly ate my eggs, I could put the fixings on my pancake, and aside from the egg yolk, they were really good! The eggs...eh. Bacon, yummy! My husband's Belgium waffle was really good too. The hot chocolate was so horrible, that I couldn't drink it. It was so sweet, I was scraping sugar off the bottom of the cup. After that, the only way I'd eat there again was if we stayed at the hotel and I asked for my pancakes on a separate plate. And, no hot chocolate.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have been there 4 totally separate times, and received horrible service. We had to track down the waitress just to get more water, or the correct order-she just dropped our food and left and mine wasn't even the right plate. The bus boy ended up getting a tip from us because he did far more than the waitress. Won't be going back there again, we gave them enough chances.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Only if your staying at the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at best western, and woke up hungry. We decided to eat at the restaurant at the hotel, which we never do because the food isn't always good. We had to wait a bit for someone to sit us, the waitress was very perky, friendly, and gave good service. We ordered the 2x2x2 and the two egg breakfast, it was a lot of food. Very greasy and fatty, probably microwave and frozen from a box. It worked for not wanting to leave the hotel just yet.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Feast!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We went to the Thanksgiving Buffet yesterday at the Starfish Grill/Best Western Agat Beach in Newport, Oregon. What a great feast and no dishes to do!!! They had Turkey, Prime Rib, Salmon, Ham, Crab and all the sides and pies and cakes! We went once before (a couple of years ago) and it was just as good traditonal. If you want a great Thanksgiving Dinner you can't beat this one for the quality, service and value!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Razor Clams, Eggs and Breakfast Potatoes. Breakfast to die for.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Grill & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Starfish Grill & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfish Grill & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.