We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Victorian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Victorian
Save
You added The Grand Victorian to your Saves list
105 NW Coast St., Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Newport B&B and Inns
Prineville, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Simply the best . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Grand Victorian B&B / Vintage Cottage in Newport, Oregon is a real gem. It's convenient to the beach, a unique & beautiful building (inside & out), with a welcoming atmosphere from the moment you arrive. Eileen & Terry Obteshka are lovely people that welcome you & make you feel like you're right at home. An "affordable B&B" is almost unheard of these days yet besides your comfortable accommodations you'll certainly not go hungry either. We were greeted with a wonder appetizer tray to take to your room & enjoy at our leisure. In the evening (when we returned from a great dinner out) we helped ourselves to the homemade Vanilla Bourbon Oatmeal cookies & ice cream. And if that's not enough "bang for your buck", every morning you'll be treated to the heartiest & most delicious full breakfast you can imagine, served (at the breakfast time you choose) in the beautiful dining room. All of the great breakfast food not withstanding, the organic coffee and the inch-thick french toast was "to die for". The GV B&B is an experience not to be missed when your staying on the central Oregon coast. ~ Our recent overnight trip to the Oregon coast was very special for several different reasons. Besides unseasonably warm, sunny September beach weather . . . Besides spotting "a ton" of California Gray Whales just off shore along the beautiful Otter Crest Loop (a winding three-mile section of the old Coast Highway) . . . Besides ((finally)) driving the beautiful Mackenzie Pass Highway through the Willamette National Forest on our way back home. If all that's not special enough, our overnight accommodations at The Grand Victorian B&B were simply the best . . . ever!! Sincerely, Cathryn & Brent ~

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I came to Newport from Washington, DC. She's a native Oregonian, and her family was renting a house 2 miles away from the Grand Victorian. Eileen and Terry were the PERFECT hosts!!!

From the moment we entered, and were greeted by Eileen, we had a really good feeling. They have a totally beautiful green Aga stove, which puts out a gentle warmth in the kitchen. Guests have the run of the house (i.e., can use the fridge), and you'll definitely take advantage of that.

We stayed in the Victoria suite, which encompasses the entire top floor of the inn. It was a breathtakingly lovely place to lay our heads. I'm slightly obsessive compulsive, and take my own linens wherever I go (including really nice hotels like the St. Regis, Four Seasons, etc.), but felt comfortable enough to sleep directly on the Grand Victorian sheets.

The bathroom has a double vanity that's made out of an old bureau. There were so many authentic, unique touches, that I can't do it justice in this review.

We chose to pay a little extra and get all three of the welcome snacks, and boy are we glad we did. If you've never had Tilamook cheese before, you HAVE to try it. It practically melts in your mouth. The shrimp in the shrimp cocktail were very fresh, and the cocktail sauce had a nice kick to it. The candied smoked salmon, though, was the scene stealer. It sounds weird, but my goodness it was scrumptious.

Since it was our honeymoon, we decided to get the afternoon tea as well. Best. Choice. Ever. I consider myself a bit of a tea aficionado, having sampled tea in some of the best tea rooms in the country, and Eileen's tea service definitely held its own. The warm turkey and cheese with cranberry was just perfect.

Bonus: Eileen and Terry didn't bat an eyelash as we, an interracial lesbian couple, checked in for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here in the Victoria Suite for 2 nights and it was one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at. Eileen and Terry are warm and welcoming and easy to converse with. The suite was lovely and provided everything we wanted. Eileen's breakfasts and evening treats are absolutely delicious and loved the shrimp cocktail on arrival. Best breakfasts on our entire trip. We look very forward to returning on our next trip to Nye Beach. Thank you for everything! You exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Top floor suites are the best. Don't get a room across from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently spent a weekend near Newport, and while walking around the Nye Beach area saw a sign in a store window for Afternoon Tea at the Grand Victorian. We found Eileen a charming hostess; she had just started offering Tea, by reservation, in addition to her B & B business. It was delightful, with a lovely combination of savory and sweet, served in the lace-curtained dining room. Everything was freshly made and very tasty; there was a nice selection of teas and a pot for each person. Both my husband and I found it a substantial "meal" and felt it was good value for the $15 per person. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys the gracious custom of "taking Tea" in the afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I came for a romantic weekend away and very much enjoyed our time here. Eileen was a fantastic hostess and great cook. She had a cheese and cracker platter ready for us on arrival and fresh baked cookies filled the home with a wonderful aroma.

We settled into the Victoria Suite and felt right at home. We slept with the door open a bit and were lulled to sleep by the low rumble of the fog horn off in the distance. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful, especially with the big window overlooking the ocean. To sit in the warm tub with a cool ocean breeze and the sound of the waves crashing under the low moonlight was amazing.

We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I and my parents had a lovely stay at The Grand Victorian this summer.
Owners were very welcoming and offered great service (as well as very pleasant chatting).
Rooms and bathroom are very well decorated and super clean too (as you would expect).
I would definitely recommend this B&B in the nice coastal city of Newport, OR.
Yummy homemade breakfast !:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Victorian in Newport for our anniversary. It is a beautiful, quiet house just a few blocks from the beach. Eileen was a fantastic hostess and made us feel right at home. I was a little worried about the "European style bathroom," but it was not a problem. It's a beautiful, large bathroom, and there is only one other room on that floor. The bathroom also has a gorgeous view of Nye Beach and the surrounding neighborhood.

Eileen made us a wonderful breakfast of waffles, hash browns, bacon, with orange juice and coffee/tea. She also made several great recommendations for dinner and other attractions in the area. It was a pleasure staying here and we will definitely return to the Grand Victorian.

Room Tip: The Sir Charles room is the cheapest way to go - no ocean view, but clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Victorian

Address: 105 NW Coast St., Newport, OR 97365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Grand Victorian Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Victorian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.