We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panache - CLOSED

Panache
614 West Olive, Newport, OR 97365
541 265 2929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Located in a home built in 1919, PANACHE has a warm and inviting atmosphere. 100 year old English pub tables add plenty of character to the dining room. PANACHE sources as much as possible locally, with the amount of local product growing month by month and uses only wild caught fish. PANACHE focuses on American cuisine that draws influence from all over Europe as well as other parts of North America. The wine list features over 40 Northwest bottles of wine. Wine is not the only diverse adult beverage as Panache also has a varied craft beer selection from light and easy drinking to dark and full of character. When Chef Zach was in Colorado he got hooked on craft spirits. PANACHE carries craft distilled spirits mainly from Oregon but a few from Europe and other US states as well.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great atmosphere,fabulous food and really nice and friendly service. A bit expensive but well worth it, considering the overall quality of the dining experience. We both had seafood dishes and they were excellent. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    20
    7
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to Panache to celebrate a big day at our business. We had an outstanding meal from appetizers through to dessert. They had an excellent and wide selection of food and one of the best and most reasonably priced wine lists I have seen in quite a long time. All four of us really enjoyed the food. The ambiance was pleasant, with a nice fire in the fireplace, and reasonably intimate in the small dining room. The only minor negative was somewhat slow service - it seemed that one of our waitstaff was brand new and needed help from the other already busy servers. However, since we weren't in a hurry, this really didn't impact our evening. I would highly recommend, and would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New owner, Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently enjoyed a meal at Panache and found a new favorite restaurant in one of our favorite Newport beach neighborhoods, Nye Beach. This restaurant has recently changed owners and revitalized it's menu. We both ordered Prawns stuffed with crab, delicious choice. Great ambiance on a stormy night, cozy dining room with fireplace and a very attentive and knowledgeable waitress. As much as we enjoyed our dinner entree, the desert menu was amazing, we couldn't decide on just one so shared Bananas Foster and Lemon curd Napoleon. Heaven on a plate! My only criticism would be that I'd like to see them update the exterior to reflect the excellent food and service offered inside, perhaps as word gets out about this place they can make it reflect the wonderful meals being created inside!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“How entertaining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I used to be on the Oregon coast full time. When I do get back I am reminded that there are really good chefs out there that have been drawn to this beautiful beach. One of those is a younger new owner/chef at Panache.
The building has been a restaurant under various ownership over the past decade. The "new" Panache is simply a gem.
I dined with friends from the entertainment industry who travel the world, enjoying their fun with international flair, especially when it comes to cuisine.
Panache kept the dinner inspirational. The talent, dear reader, was in the kitchen that evening. Followed, of course, by an encore...the Panache dessert menu.
"We shouldn't" one said. "I cannot eat another bite" was heard. Yet...maybe...with multiple spoons attached? Ahh...good decision. Where's a piano???
No piano, but a warm fireplace, candles or intimate lighting at the tables. A server who seems like a dancer, as she alone handles the intimate living room-sized dining room.
A sampler of desirous soups, fresh silverware placed without even requesting, drinking glasses replenished, and our courses meticulously prepared. We shared, each ordering a different entree. The sauces, marinades, accompaniments, whatever you call them...the chef has them well matched to the palate. Same for their wine list.
You can find them, as we did, at their website. You will want to make a reservation, and they conveniently allow this either directly or by a reliable internet service.
Panache is walking distance to the Nye Beach "downtown", to the beach, and to many hotels. Given the Oregon weather...we were glad that they have a parking lot within steps of their entrance.
I hope that they replay that evening over and over.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining by the fireplace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place to go for a special evening out. Excellent food, and sometimes unusual menu items like pheasant, just for fun. The ambiance is subdued and welcoming, and the staff friendly and efficient.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panache also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panache, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.