We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Discovery Tours

Marine Discovery Tours
345 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365
541 265 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Activities in Newport
Attraction details
Macon, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went on the tour at the end of July so we had no expectations of spotting any whales, just wanted a nice boat ride. The captain and naturalist made the trip very enjoyable for everyone. There were several small kids on board and they had a blast setting and picking up the crab traps. They all got to hold a crab if they wanted to. It was a nice ride as the ocean was a little rough and riding in the front of the boat outside you got to really feel the power of the swells. The boat also had plenty of inside seating and was a well maintained craft. Worth every penny to get out on the ocean.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Great value, great tour!! Captain and naturalist were super nice and very professional and knowledgeable. It was fun and informative. Great fun for the whole family.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANBY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took the tour at the beginning of July. The captain and 'naturalist' we SO nice. Our kids ages 2-7 all loved it. It was very interactive, the kids got to see how crabs are caught in traps and they got to hold them and we got to view plankton under a microscope. We even got to see Grey Whales! The tour is 2 hours and well worth it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Didn't Discover Much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I don't know if we were disappointed because the trip was geared toward a school field trip, but we found there to be little narration from the captain and the staff. I would have hoped we would have learned more about the Oregon Coast as we are not from the area. The boat is well maintained and the kids on board enjoying putting out crabbing nets and retrieving them at the end of the trip. Other than that, it was just a boring boat ride. Although the young ladies who assisted the Captain were very nice, and wanted to be sure that everyone felt well, I felt that there was no "discovery" of marine life other than an explanation of plankton. For most of the trip there was no explanation or narration of any kind.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a great time! Our captain, Don and naturalist, Fran, were knowledgable and friendly. They provided interactive learning for the kids on board and answered any questions posed to them. Both were fantastic at pointing out sea life while on our tour and explaining terms, Oregon sea history, and whale migration patterns. Worth every penny!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Discovery Tours also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Marine Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Discovery Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.