We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mo's Annex

Mo's Annex
657 SW Bay Blvd., Newport, OR
541-265-7512
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Lynnwood, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Great As Advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Mo's was the one restaurant I wanted to try for sure when visiting Newport because of all the publicity it gets. There was a 25 minute wait at the Original so we took a chance and went to the Annex. We didn't have to wait too long and as luck would have it, we got a table near the window. Even on a gray day the view of the bay and the boats going in and out was fun. Of course I tried the chowder and went all out and got the slumgullion in a bread bowl. It came out nice and thick with plenty of clams, potatoes, and Oregon pink shrimp. The sourdough bread bowl was delicious as well. Outside the restaurant is a sign with a brief history of the Mo's restaurant chain. There's a little debate of who has the best chowder in Newport but of the 2 places I tried, I give Mo's the edge. Mo's Annex is a great place with great food and even a great view for a lunch or dinner break while spending the day at the Bayfront.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had a good experience with the Mo's in Cannon Beach but this time it was different. The food was expensive and not what we expected or were promised. Will not be dinning at this location again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No Fried Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

But their other seafood offerings are fresh and generous. View of the boats/dock/harbor outside the wall of windows, small, sometimes a wait. Popular with locals and tourist: located on Bay Street, near other restaurants and shopping sites.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mo's was a great local restaurant. The line for a table moved very quickly and the host was friendly and quick. The menu had tons of seafood and standard options, and the prices are reasonable. The clam chowder is definitely one of the best and was featured on the Food Network. The peanut butter cream pie was also delicious. Light and sweet... yum!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy Food and View...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A must stop while in Newport is the historic bayfront, with its' wonderful galleries and shops to explore, and when you've shopped till you dropped, steer into Mo's for lunch or dinner. There are two Moes along the waterfront- the original and the Annex. The original, it was pointed out, has the only fryer, but the Annex is waterfront, so has a great view. So don't come to the annex if you want fish and chips, or fries etc. (which are chips, I suppose!) The atmosphere is coastal and casual, with a local feel. The food is delicious! It's always busy at mealtime- there was a long line outside the building, so we came back after lunch time and only waited a few minutes. Service is fast despite the crowds. The view outside is of the working wharf, with a very interesting crab cook going on below us, (I've included pics of this intertainment) and a tour fishing boat that comes and goes from this dock. A personal observation: Moes is supposedly known for its' clam chowder, and one of us ordered it, but none of us thought it was anything special. One of us happened to go to a Moes in another city, Florence, a couple weeks later, and someone else in the party ordered it, and also wasn't impressed. Opinions of food are always just that- everyone has their own taste and opinion, but that's four of us who didn't really care for the chowder, that is, we'd all had better. But enough about that. Everything else we've had here has been SO good! Add to good food an interesting and beautiful view, and great prices, and you have a winner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Annex also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mo's Annex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.