We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Beer! What more do you need?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House

Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House
748 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR
541-265-3188
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Rogue Ales Public House, originally named the Bayfront Brewery, was established in May of 1989. Rogue brewed its Ales within the Bayfront Brewery until 1992, when "Howard", the 15 barrel brew system was carried across the Newport Bay to the current location. The old brewery was converted into a poolroom which the locals call the Crustacean Stacean. Outside seating and 35 taps
Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun and Beer! What more do you need?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Do you love beer? Do you love a good time? Of course you do and so do my wife and I!

The Rogue Public House is the place to go for a good time and great beer...and distilled spirits now!

The black bean appetizer we had in the patio was delicious with excellent colorful tortilla chips. That Pico de Gallo is on the money! If you know Rogue -- and I'm a card carrying citizen of Rogue Nation -- you know you're going to have a selection of GREAT ales, lagers and stouts! But now that Rogue is doing distilled spirits, they've gone to the next level!

Do yourself a favor and have some Rogue Spruce Gin! You won't believe it as your taste buds stand up on your tongue and cheer! A gin and tonic never tasted so fresh and delicious!

A fun patio area, great music, a friendly crowd. The Rogue Public House has it all!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    97
    63
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This Brewery was fun to go to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed visiting the Rouge Brewery and their fabulous gift shop! The food was typical bar food but was very tasty. Excellent service and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Amazing Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Rogue Beer is my new favourite beer! Dead Guy is awesome! We stopped into the Rogue Public House for some appetizers and drinks before heading down the road to a seafood restaurant. We had previously tried Rogue Beer further up the coast at other establishments and we were immediately hooked, so we had to have a couple beers here. We sat on the outdoor patio, which is set up with large communal picnic tables, a great way to meet other travelers. The service was outstanding. We ordered a couple of appetizers, and our waitress decided that they were taking too long to come out, so she comped them off our tab, which was totally unnecessary but greatly appreciated. We would definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“authentic and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a pub experience at its best! We had our kids with us, and luckily they had a sign in the window that lit up saying "family dining". My hubby loves thier brew so we just had to check it out.
The "family" side offers colouring, games (lots to choose from!) and a kids menu of course.
We were offered a sample of the beer of the day and the drink menu goes on and on!
We had a fried seafood platter, which was typical pub fare and hit the spot.
Once the night gets going they play a trivia game in which your table answers questions for points, which in turn gains you tickets you can redeem for $ off food or even free beer.
They also offer off sales of thier beer and t-shirts and other novelty items.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“August in Newport Oregon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Between Lincoln City and Florence this was the best restaurant we experienced. This is a brew pub type restaurant, but I found almost all the beers were extremely hoppy. To the point they tasted all the same. Great if this appeals to you, but if you like Coors or a Budd lite ---- order a coke of a coffee. The food was very good, especially the tuna fish & Chips, Reminiscent of Mahi Mahi or Halibut. Also the Ceviche was very good, We could eat these every day,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.