We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, Excellent Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House

Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House
748 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR
541-265-3188
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Rogue Ales Public House, originally named the Bayfront Brewery, was established in May of 1989. Rogue brewed its Ales within the Bayfront Brewery until 1992, when "Howard", the 15 barrel brew system was carried across the Newport Bay to the current location. The old brewery was converted into a poolroom which the locals call the Crustacean Stacean. Outside seating and 35 taps
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Excellent Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

So my wife and I ate here for lunch. She had a Kobe Corn Dog and I had a Kobe Mushroom Burger...Fantastic!! Never had Kobe Beef before and it was quite tasty. I tried to call my cousin to get his opinion on which beer to try, but there is a no cell phone policy there...I got busted by the Beer Nazi...lol. I didn't see the sign, so he held one at me from the bar...OOPS! A cool place...bought a Limited Edition VooDoo Doughnuts Bacon Maple Ale on the way out...still haven't tried it. A cool store to buy brews and souvenirs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    97
    63
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location is fun along the piers of Newport...the food is good...better than your average bar food. I'm not a huge beer connoisseur so I can't speak to it personally but those I went with spoke highly of the brews.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good brew pub. Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The service is pub standard so you know what to expect but it is a pub after all. The food is certainly a cut above with the Mahi Mahi tacos being a true stand out. And as most anyone from Oregon will tell you Rogue brewery makes some truly fine beers. With the new Chipotle Beer being a mustbtry

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beer and Chowder Time Baby!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Rogue has several quality beers in their pubs. The selection of drinks is always a plus. Even their female non-beer drinks are legit. The bar tender is very friendly (Jolly old Richard!) My group really enjoyed the chowder. We ate at several restaurants through-out our Newport trip, and the Chowder at Rogue was our favorite. The price was kinda high but it is a tourist town so they can get away with it. The pool tables and dart board in the rear of the restaurant also add to the fun! Great place to enjoy some chowder and beers!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beer Guys Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Rogue people have made their beer a special niche for the beer lovers of the world and it all began across the bay here. The food is a nice compliment to the beer, my huby loves the kobe beef corn dog, is spendy, but worth every bite with his beer choice of the day. Clam chowder is a treat. That sais go for the beer & enjoy what comes with it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.