We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Salmon

Saffron Salmon
859 SW Bay Blvd, Ste 2, Newport, OR 97365-4817
541-265-8921
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had lunch here with my mother because I had read some good reviews. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. I would go back. I overheard the staff recommending to a customer to make reservations for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    74
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food , Beautiful Setting and Beautiful People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

How does a crab BLT sound , it was amazing with a nice local Chardonnay accompanied by a fresh mozzarella salad with heirloom tomatoes and this was just lunch .
A definite must stop while in Newport .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal...great view...great service...much enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I made the short drive to Newport from Lincoln City mainly to run some errands, and after those were done...it was dinner time. We have been wanting to try this restaurant for quite some time and were very happy to have gotten this chance to try it especially on this gorgeous evening with great views of Yaquina Bay. Food was excellent, service was friendly (thank you Lonna), fantastic view and my wife and I enjoyed this eating experience very, very much! We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stopped in during a rainy day stroll through Newport's Bayfront galleries and shops. Very quick service with an attentive server. Started with grilled brussel sprouts with garlic, olive oil and lemon. Very good. Shared a grilled salmon sandwich and beet salad. Both were very good and very filling. Enjoyed a leisurely lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, Ca.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Tastiest Clam Chowder - the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We are doing a clam chowder tasting tour, driving south from Astoria to Brookings then returning to California. Great view, wonderful service. The clam chowder was sublime - nonsalty extremely tasty broth (guess what - with saffron!), teeny potatoes (and not too many), very tender clams. Just wonderful. We also shared the seafood stew without mussels and it was very good, even spicy. We will return to Saffron Salmon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Salmon also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Salmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Salmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.