We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time for jam sessions on Sunday night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Dirty Apron

Cecil's Dirty Apron
912 N Coast Highway, Newport, OR
(541) 264-8360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, Cuban
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time for jam sessions on Sunday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went with some friends to see some music and have a couple of drinks. Good time listening to the different musicians who came and went with their instruments. Would stop by again to hear who was playing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sassy service and crappy food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

These kids think they know down home southern style food, but this place is really a joke when it comes to a restaurant. It may be an OK nightclub, but don't eat there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BLeCk.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I loved the art and the cheery paint job. The food, while not the worst I've ever had, doesn't rate a second chance. The fries were okay. The sandwich while not inedible, was only almost as good as a grocery store deli sandwich. I choked down half and brought the rest home just in case I got really really hungry and no longer cared what my food tasted like.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

To see this place from the outside a person would assume it would not be a good place to take the family. WRONG. Cecil's Dirty Apron is a great place to eat and lots of fun. We ordered frog legs just to say that we tried them. The chef brought them out to us, a young man from South Carolina. There was live music and we were encouraged to dance and enjoy ourselves. Our three year old could not stop dancing....oh, and she loved the frog legs! By far my favorite place to eat in Newport.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Decent food, good music (a little loud), good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stumbled into Newport one evening, and decided to stop for a drink. Much to our surprise there was a band playing called Undrtow. Fun reggae music, mixed with a little blues. The crowd was great, so we decided to stay and eat. Typical Pub fare, I had a bleu burger, my wife had fish n chips. Both were good, nothing fancy. We had a really great time, and would definitely go back. It was a little noisy, so if that bothers you, you might go on a night when the band isnt playing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Dirty Apron also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cecil's Dirty Apron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil's Dirty Apron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.