We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLeCk.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Dirty Apron

Cecil's Dirty Apron
912 N Coast Highway, Newport, OR
(541) 264-8360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 97 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Eclectic, Cuban
Restaurant details
AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BLeCk.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I loved the art and the cheery paint job. The food, while not the worst I've ever had, doesn't rate a second chance. The fries were okay. The sandwich while not inedible, was only almost as good as a grocery store deli sandwich. I choked down half and brought the rest home just in case I got really really hungry and no longer cared what my food tasted like.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harper
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

To see this place from the outside a person would assume it would not be a good place to take the family. WRONG. Cecil's Dirty Apron is a great place to eat and lots of fun. We ordered frog legs just to say that we tried them. The chef brought them out to us, a young man from South Carolina. There was live music and we were encouraged to dance and enjoy ourselves. Our three year old could not stop dancing....oh, and she loved the frog legs! By far my favorite place to eat in Newport.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Decent food, good music (a little loud), good times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stumbled into Newport one evening, and decided to stop for a drink. Much to our surprise there was a band playing called Undrtow. Fun reggae music, mixed with a little blues. The crowd was great, so we decided to stay and eat. Typical Pub fare, I had a bleu burger, my wife had fish n chips. Both were good, nothing fancy. We had a really great time, and would definitely go back. It was a little noisy, so if that bothers you, you might go on a night when the band isnt playing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mandolins and french fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tonight we threw an impromptu birthday party for a friend. The Staff at Cecil's was very accommodating. They set up a strip of tables down the center of the room, we decorated and loaded the tables with presents. Folks with instruments began to show up and were delighted to see that their average open mic night was going to be invaded by happy family and friends of a birthday lady! Children are allowed in this establishment until 9PM, and the atmosphere is surfer/artistic. The musicians tuned up, soda was poured and when the birthday lady walked in, the place burst to life with applause and music! She was made to feel very special by everyone. We got a very talented man to give her a "lap dance" (of a family-friendly nature) while playing his mandolin, and a huge plate of spiced french fries were the BEST we have ever tasted!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wide Variety Of Tasty Food & Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The food is really delicious. Lots of tasty southern dishes with other inventive selections to choose from. We are locals and have been going there since they opened. We've taken all our out of town friends and it has always been well received. They have great music several nights a week and a Blues jamming session on Sunday evenings. You can't be in a hurry when you go as the service is a little slow but worth the wait. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also have a full bar and sports events on T.V. We've only been there for lunch and dinner and we keep going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Dirty Apron also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cecil's Dirty Apron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil's Dirty Apron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.