We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ocean view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whaler

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whaler
Save
You added The Whaler to your Saves list
155 SW Elizabeth, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent ocean view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's on the other side of the road from the ocean but still a perfect unobstructed view of the beautiful Pacific. There is an easy path from the hotel down to the beach.
Our room was on the 3rd floor (elevator or stairs) and was clean and efficient but nothing fancy. The Hallmark resort down the street is a little better as far as comfort but you also pay more. This place is still a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    131
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
90
136
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

For a budget hotel right at the beach, the Whaler is a good deal. We had four people in a double queen room and easily fit a roll-away as well (one daughter got sick and we didn't want the other to catch it so we separated them).
All the basics are covered, but amenities stop at the basics. WiFi is barely usable for email but the wired connection is good enough for Netflix (256Kbps on wireless in the busy season because it's Open-Mesh equipment - 'Mesh' does not mean 'Magic', it means 'Slow'!). Everything is clean (enough), but it will cost you $6 to buy a box of detergent and do one load of laundry (even a few items weren't dry in one run of the dryer). Some of the housekeeping staff didn't know where the guest laundry was.
The pool was nice but noisy with kids there. Breakfast was edible if you could get to it. $50 in muffins and bagels at a bar that two people at a time can get to with hundreds of guests in house and a line in the lobby just doesn't cut it.
But if you don't expect to spend a lot of time in the room, none of that matters. You can walk down the walkway right onto the beach and the sunsets from the balconies are beautiful. The shops at Nye Beach are just a few block away but we didn't even know they were there until our last night. The Bay and Yaquinta Head lighthouse are a short drive and we found great food everywhere, especially Cafe Newport, Pig 'n Pancake, Yummy Bowls and Nana's Irish Pub.
We even got to the Farmer's Market on Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ocean view at a reasonable price. There is a quiet road between you and your long sandy beach, but very little traffic at night. Every room has a balcony view of the tide's coming and going. Breakfast is adequate to help save some money and hassle in the morning. Wonderful cross-breeze for fresh ocean air between the ocean front balcony sliding door (almost wall to wall windows) and a small window atop the outside entry door which can be pulled down and safely left open day or night. It was lovely to relax in the room in the morning and evening and not have that stale-air-hotel-room-feeling of being cooped up, as is so often the case. The front desk staff went above and beyond the call of duty to arrange a room change one day into our stay, personally going up to clean the room we left (as it was evening and the cleaning staff had left for the day) and arranging the new one. Choose a top floor room for the most quiet. We decided to stay two extra nights as it was so relaxing a home base for hiking and beachcombing. Also, the neighbourhood where the hotel is situated is very laid back and quiet as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Whaler is Newport's best hotel. It is very clean. The carpet is new. The employees are all very friendly and helpful. The laundry is very clean. The view is wonderful. The price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: The third floor has the best view. The king suite had a micro and refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4 stayed in a double queen on the ground floor. Got a rollaway for the 2nd and 3rd nights and we still had plenty of floor space. Beautiful view of the ocean and a path to the beach right across the street. Complimentary breakfast was very very basic, I wouldnt recommend it if you want more than a coffee and slice of toast. However there are other good breakfast restaurants in the area, our favorite was the pig n pancake. There is complimentary wifi but the connection is incredibly slow. Pool was inconsistent as far as cleanliness- one day it was clean, the next not so much. The patio furniture was just plastic white chairs and the room decor was outdated. The view excused a lot in this property. The staff was nice and the location was superb but the room was basic and ammenities below that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was better than I expected and exceeded my expectations... Very clean room, comfortable bed, great view and great access to the beach too. The room came with extra linens and pillows which was great. The wifi was good and the service at the front desk was top rate. ...I will be back again for sure. .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The headline says it all when it comes to coast vacation rentals or hotels: value, location, view. I was in Newport on business (shooting a different hotel) and needed space for my family and my dog to hang out while I was working. We opted for one of their beach house rentals for a total of six of us (+ the dog!) for two nights. The house we rented was right on a corner, overlooking the best of Nye beach from the lighthouse to the bar that leads into Newport Harbor. Amazing place, well built, 3 bedrooms with at least a cord of wood provided for the wonderful fireplace. It really doesn't get much better than that! Location besides the brilliant view was also a perfect short walk for the small boutiques, cafes and restaurants of Nye Beach and beach access path right across the street. Not only was the house and space perfect, they gave us a seriously early check in and a late check out so I could complete my work and the family enjoyed it immensely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: any of their houses make excellent choice for a family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#9 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whaler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.