We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dude.... Drink the fry sauce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arctic Circle

Arctic Circle
340 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 96 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Dude.... Drink the fry sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Local favorite for years. Every time o go back, I end up here multiple times. Price is getting a bit high for the quality, but it's better than mcd's

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nostalgia time with Arctic Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised to see an Arctic Circle and started reminiscing about eating at them when we were quite a bit younger. We had just returned from a day of exploring the coast and decided to get dinner here...fast and easy. The Ranch Burger with fries were delicious but the blackberry shake made the meal...it was thick and soooo good. I remember the fry sauce and it didn't disappoint our memories. Hope this place will be there when we visit again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“burgers were old and cold!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The crew was hungry so we thought burgers from arctic circle. The order was messed up for one and the burgers were dried out and cold. We will have to find another burger joint, for the price we paid we expected better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Way better than BK or McDs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you want a good fast food place, I would recommend Arctic Circle. They usually have good deals so you can get food cheap, and it really fills you up. The fries have always been hot and fresh, and the fry sauce is great. Its unfair to conpare this place to more upscale restaurants, because of course it is fast food. But compared to othet fast food joints, this place is the best in Newport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Experience an Oregon tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Arctic Circle restaurants have all but disappeared. The one was on the brink of disappearing about 20 years ago, but then they got a new general manager that really turned it around (from what I recall--I was ten at the time). They spruced the place up with a new paint job and improved customer service. If you've never had Arctic Circle fry sauce, try it before you die. It is a Pacific Northwest CLASSIC.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arctic Circle also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Arctic Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arctic Circle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.