We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaverton, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel was great...right next to the beach. Rooms were clean and lobby area was nice. Beds were OK...a little on the hard side. Fridge, microwave and counter space was convenient. $1 menu for kids breakfast at the restaurant was good too. Pool was large and very well maintained. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Tom R,

I am very glad that you had a good stay with us and sounds like you enjoyed all we have to offer, I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    240
    100
    43
    15
See reviews for
239
271
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This BW facility is among our top favorites. Its location, right on the OR Coast, is just outstanding. If the weather allows, you can open the window a crack and hear the breakers coming into shore. There are great sunrise and sunset shots if you are into photography. Their restaurant has excellent service and the menu offers a lot of seafood options; all very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Goodmedicine7229,

I am very happy to hear that we are on your favorites list! Our hotel is good to stay at Rain or Shine as if you have the ocean view room you can watch the waves from your room. Sounds like you enjoyed our dining room as well, Thank you for writing your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Location on this hotel is great, just a short walk to the beach. The place itself is very average, and the staff is nice. The breakfast was okay, nothing special, the service was okay, they were busy and seemed to need another person. Our food came and it looked like it had sat for a few minutes under the heat lamp. The windows looking out over the balcony to the ocean were dirty and had fingerprints all over them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very sorry that your breakfast was not served right away! I will defiantly look into the situation. Other than the problem with your windows I do hope you found your room clean as we do try to make sure everything is nice and clean for you! I do hope you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was very clean with a great ocean view, comfortable beds with white linens and a large flat screen TV. We stayed on the 6th floor which allowed us the great view.

The front desk staff was very friendly and very helpful in getting information on nearby attractions and available transportation, as they are not really within walking distance of shopping, other than Walmart. Their lobby is very modern and clean and has coffee and fruit available.

We ate at the onsite restaurant for breakfast and dinner. During breakfast, our waitress was Amy and she was outstanding. She was exceptionally busy but never forgot about you and kept the coffee coming ... The food was quite good. The only suggestion I would have would be to have a smaller portion menu available in the evening.

The only negative thing I would note is that the halls were exceptionally cold .. which was a result of the maids leaving the doors open to the outside when cleaning. There were some great chairs in the halls which had great views of the ocean .. but it was really too cold to enjoy them. We mentioned this to the front desk and they were going to take care of it.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request the 6th floor for a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Portland Phly,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and was well taken care of! I will also look into the situation with the maid leaving the window open and the cold air coming in! During the summer it is great but winter is a different story! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel but my first review. There is a choice of an ocean view or hillside view room. I absolutely love the view rooms that I have stayed in. The rooms in this hotel have always been clean and nice and quiet and the view of the ocean and beach is spectacular. The lobby area is a nice comfortable place to sit and visit with friends. I really can't say enough nice things about my stays at the Best Western Agate Beach . I would go out of my way to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Barbara W,

Its nice to hear that you like to come and stay with us! I appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. It is great that you took the time to share your experience at our hotel with others Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife & I were looking for an upscale establishment to watch a couple of local college football teams and found the Rookie's Sports Bar attached to this hotel. It was just what we were looking for. The service was prompt, pleasant and professional. The food we ate was good and hit the mark. We could that the view from the bar was nice. We go to the coast quite often, so maybe next time, we'll look forward to staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Philip H,

I am so glad you enjoyed watching the games in our Lounge, I actually was here for an event and I saw that there was quite a few people in watching! Yes next time you should come stay with us we would love to have you! Thank you for taking the time to write your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Get an ocean view room! The entire wall is glass with a sliding door. The beach is just downstairs and across a small road. The beach is large making for a good walk in either direction. We arrived early. The girl at the desk was kind enough to check with housekeeping and we were told our room would be ready in about half an hour and they would call us. That did not happen. It was not an issue since we knew we were early. I took a long walk on the beach and then we relaxed in the bar for a while. The room was definitely worth waiting for. The rain came in the next day but the view was still beautiful. The room was spacious and very comfortable, tastefully decorated and modern. This was our farthest point north. We stayed for three days before beginning our trip back to southern Californa. It was a wonderful place to relax before getting back in the car. We did enjoy visitng the local lighthouses in spite of the light rain.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
bogeysue,

I am so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us despite the rain. I appreciate you taking the time to write your review and hope that you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.