We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you'd expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Fort Collins, United States
1 review
“More than you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I came to this hotel not expecting a whole lot having seen a lot of variation in different Best Western's over the years. However, this one impressed me more as a resort that happened to have the Best Wester name on it. The location is right on the beach (or very close to it), the parking is convenient and innovative given its location. The bonus was that while there was no free breakfast as many hotels offer, the restaurant provided a decent hot cooked meal for $5. This is really a full service restaurant that provided some nice meals when we were there. The only downside was there was no air conditioning. However, even in mid August the evenings were cool enough that opening the slider cooled the room off pretty well. Overall, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat if I was going to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Louis VP,

I am happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised that our hotel was much more than you expected.
Sometime not having air conditioning can be a problem but it does cool off enough in the evenings that it makes it nice. It looks like home is a long ways away but I hope you will get out to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    208
    92
    38
    13
See reviews for
217
235
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was very clea, I could not find a dirty spot anywhere in our room of anywhere in the hotel.
Hot Tub & Pool was very nice, we really enjoyed the time we spent in our room and the pool area.
A short walk to the beach, restuarant and pub was excellent.
This will be my hotel of choice next time I visit Newport

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Greg M,

Thank you so much for your review, It is really nice to have you notice the hard work that my staff put in each and every day to make sure our guest have a great stay with us! Housekeeping is such a hard job so thank you for the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a nightmare ride from Seattle which took us 10 hrs to get there because of all lanes in Portland were blocked on I-5 due to a semi rolling on the freeway. Fun 5 hour adventure on I-5. Got here at a little after midnight and was totaly exsausted. Check in went very smooth and fast. Very friendly service. Beds were very comfy. Room was nice. Ocean view was very beutifull. Pool and hot tub were very clean and fun. Son loved it. Beach was so nice. Loved this place and can not wait to do it again soon. Newport is a very fun place.Loved it. Only thing I didn't care for was the food we got from room service. Expensive and not up to par. Other than that everything else was nice. Lots of shops around and so many other places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
frankstr13,

It must have been a horrible trip for you getting here, I am so glad that we were able to help make things better by you having a nice stay with us! We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

One on nicest Best Western's we have stayed at on the Oregon coast. Room was recently remodeled, clean, and had a great view of the ocean. Agate beach is a short walk from the rear entrance of the Hotel. Hotel includes a restaurant, gift shop, bar, inside swimming pool, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Ron D,

Thank you for writing your review, It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, We have just done some redecorating and hope everyone likes what we have done! We look forward to seeing you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in August of 2013. We enjoyed the hotel and the area. Half of the hotel faces the ocean with a beautiful view. We did see some fog this morning but it was burned off by the sun. Front desk staff was very friendly and we loved the little gift shop and the guy working it. Our room was clean and well organized. Sliding glass door also acts like the air conditioner. We were very happy to stay here and will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dsdgtdude,

It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us, We did have a few days that were foggy but now it has been nice again. So I hope you'll come back and stay with us soon! Thank you for taking the time to write your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

nice stay. room recently refurbished with new carpet and furnishings. sleep well; nice mattress, internet very very slow. room clean, nice linen and towels. could smell a smoker from adjacent room; rooms have a door shared between them so the smoke drifted into our room and this is a non smoking hotel. staff were all helpful, respectful with good attitudes. would be nice if a complementary breakfast were served. did not use the restaurant, bar or gym. overall pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for writing your review, I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so sorry about the smoker we try very hard to monitor this as we do not want our non smoking guests to have to smell it! We look forward to having you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Since last staying here in 2003, the room decor has been updated but a couple of key issues still remain.

1) Rooms only have wall heating - no fans or A/C. What's more, there are no screens on the non Ocean view room, so if you leave your window open you'll end up with bugs.
2) Front Desk staff lose their hospitality once there are more than 3 people standing in line... granted this is not the rule, but there are several members of the front desk staff that have no idea how to make a traveler feel welcome and that everything will be taken care of...
3) The restaurant is mediocre for the prices charged, but the wait staff do a good job of making up for it.
4) Smoker's don't really have anywhere to retreat to that isn't directly in the path of others moving around the hotel grounds.
5) At 10:00 at night the hotel guests are still noisy, and noises transfer easily through the walls and down hallways...

Have to reiterate the huge issue of no A/C or window screens - so the rooms are way too warm with no remedy.

Room Tip: Get something on the upper floor - ocean view rooms are priced much higher than land view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
jhbrock911,

I am very sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we have done some upgrading to our rooms and we do still have more to come later in year! We do not have air conditioning as normally on the coast we don't need it, However we have had some rather humid days this summer. Again I want to apologize for your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.