We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good! Would recommend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Newport
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good! Would recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a last minute getaway. We booked a larger king room with ocean view. Although the water is located a bit further away from the hotel, this is due to a large expanse of beautiful sandy beach! We had a great view of the ocean and the lighthouse down the beach from our room. The pillow top bed was equal to higher end hotel "heavenly" sleep beds - with the added bonus of the roar of the ocean for a terrific night's sleep! Our room was very clean and staff were friendly. Wifi worked well from our room and the hotel

There is some noise from the hallways and doors closing - fortunately guests in our area were not coming/ going often so we did not hear at night.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. The actual water is a little walk away due to the large beach but it is such a beautiful view. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    208
    92
    38
    13
See reviews for
216
234
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night and were very pleasantly surprised.. Very comfortable beds. Rookies bar was good also. Had the steak chili and nachos. I work for an international hotel chain and your rooms are up to my hotels standards without a doubt. Booked the hotel online and were told it included a continental breakfast and there wasn't one. That's is our only complaint. We will stay here again. Thanks, The Vail's Portland OR

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate you taking the time to let us know! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Liked the location and availability of walking to the beach. Also nice restaurant that we enjoyed dinner and one of the best sausage breakfast burritos ever. Overall good stay at the best western Newport.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are at a great location! The view is beautiful. We recently changed our breakfast burrito so it sounds like it was a good thing. I appreciate your comments and hope you will stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the only hotel on the beach where the Japanese Dock washed ashore. As such, it was pretty crazy busy while we were there. - not that it really hurt anything. The beach is massive, and while there was a pretty steady stream of people parking, and walking out to the dock, there was still miles of beach to walk. Hotel was typical of Best Western, though they had a restraurant on site instead of free continental breakfast. (we got a voucher for 10$ (each) to use anytime in the restraurant. (once) Wasn't a big deal, food was good and pretty cheap in comparison to what we pay at home. Room had a great view of the beach/ocean and it was great to just sit and watch sunsets. Overall a great stay, and would stay again.

Room Tip: as I have said on other reviews of coast trip, you gotta have the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
You are so right the dock was a big hit and we saw so many people on the beach while it was here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Really enjoyed the past couple of nights at the Best Western Plus in Agate Beach.
The restaurant definitely earned four stars in providing great breakfasts, and dinners. I really liked the staff at the restaurant and and at the front desk. They were delightful and very hospitable. The ocean view rooms had great beds, but just ok bathrooms. They were quite small. I do believe the hotel could do some renovations with the bathrooms. I recommend staying at the hotel if you are planning to spend sometime in the area. Also be sure to check out the Aquarium in Newport . Make sure to visit the Yaquina Head Natural area too. Quite Wonderful.

Room Tip: Ocean View a must... Plus pet friendly rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALLEJO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here on our way down the Oregon Coast, and were not dissapointed at all. The views from the room are that of the lighthouse and the vast expansive view of the ocean. The sound of the waves lulls one to sleep. Front desk personnel were very nice, attentive and helpful. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the great comments, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The view is beautiful here and I am fortunate enough to get to work at a location with this view. We hope to see you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here on our second last night of our vacation and wish we had stayed there longer. The front desk person was simply fabulous and so helpful. She found us a room early as we arrived before noon. When we wanted to get an ocean view room (which I strongly recommend) she was so helpful. The room was simply fabulous. The bed was by far the most comfortable and the view was great. We had lunch at the bar in the hotel and was treated to excellent food and service. The only down side was the dining room waiter who wasn't friendly and wanted to rush us out of the restaurant. He may have been having bad day, who knows. I am choosing to think that as the rest of our experience here was great.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are a must. You pay a little more ($35) and it is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very good to hear the positive things as well as problems. I am so sorry about your night time waiter as the two I have usually are awsome. I appreciate that comment so I can follow up.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn

Address: 3019 North Coast Highway, Newport, OR 97365
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Family Hotel in Newport
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have been recently redecorated and new carpet as of 7/31/2013! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Agate Beach Hotel Newport
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn Newport, Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.