We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Studio was Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel to your Saves list
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   890 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365   |  
Hotel amenities
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Our Studio was Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We just dropped into Newport on the way up the coast. This is at the end of the main drag, overlooking the harbor. This is a working harbor, so remember fisherman start early. That said,
i did love the 5 am departure but had to close the window for the chatter.
Fresh seafood many places in town. What a great place to overnight.

Room Tip: The two studios were add ons and the room number is out of order from the rest. Follow the instructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moran, Wyoming
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We needed a location near a friends home, the bay waterfront and where we could base from over six days. This met the need without question! Two bedroom unit with 1 1/2 bath, laundry, kitchen and view of the pleasure boats out the front window. It was nicely appointed, very clean and service was excellent.

There's no hot tub, etc. but both the Newport Coffeehouse and Local Ocean Seafood were within walking distance (1/2 mile).

Only issues we ran into were their exercise room, business center computer and printer were down so we had to drive to Staples and the WiFi dropped out two mornings. Made up for the exercise room by driving the three miles to Nye beach where there's more than 2.5 miles to jog on during low tide.

Definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked at the landing last minute for the great value of there beautiful one bedroom suites looking over the marina and bay . Simply . The units sell themselves . Walking distance to restaurants on bay ave . Local seafood restaurant amazing ,and rogue brewery pub stellar for beer consigners . Newport is a must stop location to experience the seafood :) the aquarium is also amazing :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

When visiting Newport we prefer to stay bay side so that we can watch all the goings-on in the harbor area with the fishing boats coming and leaving.

For this purpose The Landing at Newport is ideal. We had reserved a pet-friendly, one bedroom condo on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the marina out in front and the fishing harbor a little closer to the Historical District.

The property offers underground parking, an elevator and a neat patio-area where you can relax, barbeque or cook your crabs for dinner. Newport is known for it's crabbing. Oh, I almost forgot. Several fishing boats were offering fresh tuna for sale when we were there. Unfortunately we didn't have time. We would have loved to have barbequed a nice filet of fresh tuna in the patio-area.

The Landing is within fairly easy walking distance from the Historical Area with lots of restaurants. Local Ocean Seafoods, our favorite restaurant in Newport, is the first restaurant you get to when walking from The Landing towards the Historical District.

The gals at the office were nice and helpful. It was unseasonably hot when we arrived, and...since heat rises, the 3rd floor was pretty warm. However, the office found a fan for us within minutes of our arrival.

We will definitely stay there again. The only minor complaint we have is that our two dogs wish there had been a little green grass in the immediate area...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were missing the beach and decided at the last minute to go to Newport. We had never been there before. We found The Landing to be very nice. So here is the quick overview. Positive -Nicely located in walking distance to the bay front, great views, fun to watch the boats and fishermen leave and return with their catch, room typical but comfortable, kitchens, wifi, nice front office staff, very accommodating, no noise from adjacent rooms . Negatives - our bedroom faced onto the walkway which meant we couldn't open our windows and the layout was such that it got very stuffy in our room, no hot tub. We enjoyed our stay and found our lodgings to be a good value.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have great views of the marina and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

No pool but nice rooms. At 159.00 a night I kind of expect the wi-fi to work. Not much to do.
Cable tv is the only entertainment offered other than a workout room. When it rains outside
looking out on the bay is nice and the view of fishing boats is relaxing but gets old after an
hour or two. Kichens and rooms are nice but it is really easy to run out of things to do if
the weather is bad. A good half mile walk to town or bay shops. Check the oven for dirty
pans before you bake. Other than the problems listed it was nice but questionable if it is
worth 159.00 a night. No pool or spa available. No pets or smoking allowed on premises.
Batteries in remotes seem dead and have to go get new ones.

Room Tip: e.ach room is different so it is hard to say which one is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely spot to unwind. Clean, friendly and very affordable. Great view from our balcony. Sat on our balcony with wine in hand and watched the charter fishing boats come in and unload their catch at the end of the day. At the same time the local yacht club was having their Wednesday evening sail race. Great entertainment right from our balcony!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel

Address: 890 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing at Newport offers an ever changing view of the Yaquina Bay and Bridge from your private balcony. Located at the end of Newport's Historic Bay Front within walking distance of fine dining, shopping, and many other local attractions Our friendly staff is ready to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landing At Newport Condominium-Hotel Oregon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.