We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing quite like it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport's Historic Bayfront

Newport's Historic Bayfront
SW Bay Boulevard, Newport, OR
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Attractions in Newport
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Cultural
Attraction details
Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing quite like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you can find a parking place, and if summer crowds don't bother you, the sense of history and the smells/sights of a real fishing community are right there. Make an off-season visit and it feels like an intimate experience...with the best restaurants and shops still open. Places like this often become part of your family's DNA with or without the crowds. One of our favorites.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    169
    49
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Newport, OR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in a hotel right on the ocean in Newport and decided to venture over to the bayfront area. We enjoyed ourselves very much as this is an authentic fishing town complete with fresh seafood, canned tuna that you can purchase, delicious clam chowder at Moe's, and yelping seals that you can hear and see off a pier. Quaint downtown with charming shops and eateries. We parked, had lunch and just walked around. We even saw tons of shrimp being loaded into a truck for transport to a cannery, the local workers in their rubber boots, and happy, relaxed tourists. We then headed back to our hotel for a walk on the beach and a view of the lighthouse. Quite the package deal for a vacation or get-a-way! Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lots of options for a day trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have visited the waterfront a number of times, for a fishing and crabbing excursion which was very successful and for shopping and meals. There are numerous stores and some nice restaurants to patronize, especially Mo's and Local Ocean. You can watch the marine life on the piers, especially the loud sea lion population, or just stroll the waterfront and check out the boats and fishing activities.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“My favorite place to walk, people watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Anytime of day or night...this is my favorite place to be. Benches for if you just want to sip a cup of coffee...watch boats and lusten to the seals yell at each other. I've been there at 7pm and at 4am...have always felt safe. The shops farther down are fun..its a great place for relaxing or people watching...always something to see

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss this .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

An interesting attraction , in a natural setting .
The sea lions are entertaining , and Mo's has good seafood .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport's Historic Bayfront also viewed

 

Been to Newport's Historic Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport's Historic Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.