We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatfield Marine Science Center

Hatfield Marine Science Center
2030 SE Marine Science Dr, Newport, OR 97365
541-867-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Newport
Type: Educational Sites, Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of informative exhibits at the Hatfield Marine Science Center gives visitors a glimpse of hot topics in contemporary marine science research.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My family and I are so happy we stopped here! My youngest (age 6) loved the tide pool touch tanks and watching the octopus feeding while my older kids (ages 11 and 14) were really fascinated by the many educational exhibits and hands on opportunities. This facility was beautiful, the staff was informative, the crowd was small and the price ($20 donation per family) was more than reasonable. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    73
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent visit and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I would recommend visiting the center before you go to see any tide pools. They have a tidepool where you can touch things and someone who can tell you what everything is. Cool displays and critters for the cost of a donation.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This has to be one of the best Marine Educational Centers anywhere. Wow! I was impressed with the displays, the interactive exhibits and the very knowledgeable and helpful staff.
This will definitely be a regular stop on my visits to the area. For a very small donation it sure beats many Aquariums.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I love this science center. Staff & Volunteer's are super knowledgeable & friendly. You can pop in for a quick visit, maybe watch them feed some sea creatures or spend a few hours there; it's very low key. Great for kids of all ages. Plus it's free, but I always donate to a great cause!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“low cost!and good fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I will be honestand say what attracts me to this place is the low price for a suggested 20 dollars per family(it is not enforced,when you go in you just put your donation in a box) so you could pay less

it is interactive ,hands on,the kids can and are encouraged to touch evrything including little tidepools full of starfish urchins and other creatures i cannot spell the names of,there is a octapus and jelly fish,tanks of cool fish,one tank had nemo and Dory in it!
i highly reccomend this as a money saving alterative to the aquarium,and certainly over undersea gardens
after we were done here we went to the bay front and saw seals for free they are so fun to watch

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatfield Marine Science Center also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Hatfield Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatfield Marine Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.