We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley's Believe It or Not!

Ripley's Believe It or Not!
250 SW Bay Boulevard, Newport, OR 97365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 35 things to do in Newport
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were so disappointed in this attraction. There were very few real artifacts; instead they just had replicas and some text boards which was no more interesting than looking at something on the internet for free. In fact, that would be better because this place smelled really bad and was run down. The other Ripley's Believe It or Not locations must have all their real stuff because I've been to one in San Francisco that was much better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    40
    51
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was a waste of time and money. The exhibits are just bad reproductions, and, frankly, the smell inside is so moldy I thought I was going to vomit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“shabby creepy fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A bit run down but lots and lots of fun and creepy exhibits. Remind me of the Ripleys believe it or not museum that was in Niagara Falls ontario I went to a lot as a kid (35 years ago!!) with my brother. This time I took my 10 year old son and we were there for 2 hours. It's great for kids and adults alike and the exhibits range from horrific (torture device) to interactive fun (disco -like light show room). Worth a goofy family look-see every time :)

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I'll tell you what: This place was silly and fun and goofy and well worth the price (thanks for the coupon, Chamber of Commerce!). Take the kids and have fun!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Believe it or Not???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

This was Alright, But I did like The Earthquake Display, Which Featured The Old Ripley's Believe it or Not TV series from The 80's With Hollywood Legend Jack Palance, One thing I also did like to, Was Some of The Oregon Displays Like The Tillamook Burn and The Air Balloon Lawn Chair from Bend, Oregon...............Maybe The Wax Works Should Take a Hint and add Some Oregon Movie Tie in Displays!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It or Not! also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ripley's Believe It or Not!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley's Believe It or Not!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.